Review "“ 7.19 "Of Grave Importance"
by sweetondean

 
I needed to help
Not if it means you have to"¦ be this
 
At the risk of sounding repetitive, I'm really enjoying the old school vibe of season 7. I'm enjoying the stories, the style of hunting, the emotional connections, the boy's banter and relationship, the way they're talking to each other and leaning on each other. The only other thing I really need is the Impala back"¦..though I have a sneaking suspicion I'm going to have to wait for the season finale for that character to return. Boo.

And you all thought I was gonna lead with the shower scene didn't you? You think I'm that shallow? Oh you know me so well. I probably shouldn't tell you how I spent way too long last night, discussing the attributes of said scene, I mean what else is a Dean-girl supposed to do with her Saturday night"¦"¦"¦"¦ Anyhoo I'll get to it later, I promise, because I think it speaks to where the boy's relationship is at, so I'll wax lyrical about wet Dean, errr that scene, in a bit.

You know what? I liked "Of Grave Importance". I know a hell of a lot of you didn't, but I did. I liked it more than "Party On, Garth" for example, which to me would have fallen on it's ass, had it not been for the brother dialogue and Bobby reveal. But then, that's me all over. I'm always going to go for something with emotional resonance over laughs. I'm much more likely to throw in a heavy myth-arc or emotionally fraught episode to re-watch than a comedic one. As much as I thought "The French Mistake" was genius, I'm much more likely to watch "Appointment in Samarra", you know what I mean? So "Of Grave Importance" hit some really solid emotional notes for me and I'll tell you why.


First off, let's start with the story, which of course was just wrapping for the story. I like a good ghost hunt, give me a salt and burn and I'm a happy camper, so straight off the bat I liked the setting for this episode. The fact that a couple of horny teenagers got ganked in the opening scene was just icing. I mean, that's every single horror movie I grew up with, except her boobs weren't on display. Of course, unless you'd been under a rock, we all knew that this was going to be an episode about ghost Bobby, something I sit solidly with Dean on, I ain't feeling good about it. I thought giving Bobby's reintroduction a haunted house setting was a good (you can say convenient if you like) way to allow Bobby to explore his ghostly traits. The rest of the story about the psycho-killer ghost and Dexter, his not psycho offsider, nice slight of hand with the name there, just didn't matter. So I'm not going to worry about it, it was simply a tool to let us see what Bobby's in for if he sticks around in his current state. He's going to become a shadow of his former self and quite possibly, a screaming Banshee. Bugger. I'm glad he got to see that. He needs to seriously consider the outcome of his decision before it's too late. He also got to have his Swayze moment and learn the ghostly tricks of the trade, as with Dean in "In My Time Of Dying" and both Sam and Dean in "Death Takes A Holiday". We've always known that it's not easy moving things around when you first become spectral, that's pretty much lore, so it was good to see Bobby struggling with that, being knocked out for 2 weeks because he tried to move a book, tumbling through a coffee table. The fact that he got a handle on it all so quickly was"¦okay I guess, given that Bobby is one smart cookie and has always been a quick study. To say he had to get his Zen seemed right, I've always seen Bobby as very Zen.


I'm also pretty happy that they gave Bobby a friend in this unfriendly environment. Poor Annie, but let's face it, she slept with Sam and we all know that means curtains! I liked Annie and not just because she banged both of the Winchesters, though seriously, I think that might make her my hero or something! Annie seemed like she had guts when she was alive, not much sense going into that house alone, but then I guess that's probably how she's been hunting her entire life. Having Annie present not only gave us a ghosts-eye-view of the afterlife, but it also allowed Bobby to work through some stuff without breaking out in a soliloquy or something. It also gave her the chance to speak some sense to him, about the 'life' of a ghost being somewhere between existing and not. The more I write about this, the more it hurts my heart. You know"¦how can Bobby stay like this, as a ghost, in amongst other ghosts, when they're the thing he's fought most of his life? Existing but not existing. While the boys have their lives and can go anywhere and do anything. Bobby might be able to be with them, but he's not WITH them and if they leave that flask"? I'm sorry, I digressed a little there but it just popped into my head. How do you make that concept work? How do you get right with that? If I can't wrap my noodle around it, how can Bobby? How can the boys? Gah. 

I enjoyed seeing Bobby's growing frustration manifest itself in snarky comments, but it also made me go, hmmmm. Because a frustrated ghost is going to be a cranky ghost and a cranky ghost is only a boo away from being an angry spirit. It must have been a hell of a few months, dealing with not being heard, screaming at the boys, trying to move stuff. Poor Bobby. I do wish he'd stop bagging them out though. I mean, Sam and Dean CAN solve a case without Bobby and the whole, they can't do this without me attitude really got on my wick. This is one of the things I've been harping on about. Stripping the boys of all their support, as much as many seem to think that was an error on behalf of TPTB, allowed Sam and Dean to reclaim their true roles as hunters, to show that they're smart, self reliant men who don't need to run to an Angel or a father-figure for answers at every turn. Don't get me wrong, I'm all for those people being in their lives, but I was really over how Sam and Dean no longer seemed to solve a case without outside help, when once, they were running rings around evil things. I think it made them appear impotent, in a hunting sense only of course, and I've enjoyed the return to clever Dean and looking for answers Sam. (I'll excuse him not putting two and two together with the flask because his melon has been a tad jumbled). I've enjoyed a return to the guts of who the Winchesters are with their skills nicely on show. So please Bobby, I know you're saying all of this because you want to feel needed, but"¦. I don't know what I'm trying to say here, I just really hated his little asides about them having got slow without him being around. I know it's his way and I love him to pieces and of course he's a great help to them, but they can do the job without him, they'd just prefer to do it with him.


And then there was the big reveal. The CW, once again in all their wisdom, popped this in the promo. Really, I want to get my hands on that promo department and teach them how to do their job so bad, so I wasn't surprised that all of a sudden Sam and Dean could see Bobby. The mechanics of that, really, I don't care. I just can't get bogged down in the minutiae that way, it saps all the enjoyment out of what is essentially entertainment, I say essentially because let's face it here, Supernatural is way more than entertainment to me. I will always have a wee ponder on the how, but usually just look to the why. They had to see Bobby at some stage and as we only have 4 more episodes until the season end, there was no reason or time to drag it out any further. We had to get this big emotional arc out on the table. If you're looking for the how, maybe it was the evil ghost's mojo, or maybe it was because Bobby had just come to and wasn't thinking, or angsting as the bar ghost said, but I don't care. There he was and the boy's faces said it all.


So about that. Man, have I been reading some things about Dean. Straight up, a show of hands from anyone who would actually want their loved one to be roaming the afterlife for eternity, getting more bent up as time goes on and turning into some screaming, evil creature. Hands? Anyone? Bueller? Bueller? Yeah, no-one right? So why the big surprise that now that Bobby has been revealed to Sam and Dean they ain't jumping for joy? Dean said it all, Bobby was supposed to be drinking beer at the big Harvelle's in the sky and the boys know it's there, because they've visited it. I'm sure that's how they've been picturing him. Instead here he is, stuck in his not so great afterlife. I felt every ounce of Dean's pain over this. I don't want that for Bobby either. Sure Sam and Dean had been wishing they could see Bobby again, but wishing for something that you don't believe will ever happen and having it stand up in front of you are two totally different things. To play this scene out with anything other than deep emotional conflict would have been total bull. Thank God they didn't all try to hug or something awkward. 


The other aspect of this of course is that both these guys have been grieving terribly for this man. Slowly but surely trying to move on. Sam said it when he asked Dean to put the flask away because it was just reminding them of Bobby and Dean said he'd thought about it, but he wasn't ready yet. Sure they knew it was Bobby for reals once he wrote on the shower mirror, but still. Imagine the shock of actually seeing him. Just imagine that. Are they going to have to go through saying goodbye to Bobby all over again? Damn. It's not right. Dean knows only two well about the natural order of things. After all, he was Death for a day and he learnt the consequences of not following the plan. He's also learnt that bringing people back from the dead never works out well (Sam excluded). He lives, his dad dies, Sam lives, he dies, yadda yadda yadda. I was happy when they didn't try and find a way to bring Bobby back to life. I thought, finally, they've learnt something. These two have matured a lot and I think we're seeing that growth very nicely throughout season 7. So how were they supposed to react? Was Dean too harsh in the way he spoke? There's no doubt Bobby's feelings got hurt, but Dean spoke from his heart, openly and honestly and that's how he's always spoken to Bobby. That's who he is. He spoke through grief and through shock and through deep sadness that this man he loves so much is now stuck in this non-existence and by his own doing. I didn't hear anything but pain and concern and shock and as Sam didn't jump in and try and sugar coat it, I'd say he's feeling exactly the same way. I think this is exactly how they should have reacted. Anything else would have been a jip. I'm sure I'll cop loads of commentary on this, so, shoot.


The whole thing is tragic and as Dean said, what are the odds this ends well? What are the odds? When have they ever had any kind of real luck in areas like this? I'm going to go out on limb however and say, this might be one of those rare occasions because surely this can only go one of two ways, they have to put Bobby to rest again and this time for good, please no, or he becomes corporeal. Ghost Bobby just doesn't work, not for me anyway. It's all too, The Ghost And Mrs Muir or something. Of course, I can always be swayed I guess, if the writers can make it work well within the story, but, yeah, nup, real Bobby or no Bobby, those are the two scenarios currently working for me and obviously I'm rooting for the former (kinda like Annie did"¦.that's a gag for my Aussie readers!) I do love that Sam is trying to find the silver lining though, maybe they can make it work.  That's the other thing here; this goes against everything they do for a 'living.' Ouch. My heart. It's very sad for all three of them. My heart was breaking all around and Bobby riding there in the backseat,listening. Man. Buckets for my tears.


Ok on to my favouritist thing, the Winchesters. So my three favourite scenes were the one on the non-Impala at the beginning. I just liked that they'd pulled over for some tacos and sat on the bonnet of the car. I was picturing them looking at the stars again. Then in the restaurant, when they figured out that they'd both foxholed with Annie! Sam's look and no soul excuse, Dean just kind of rolled with it. I thought that was gold. A beautiful moment and really grow'd up of them I might add! Then Dean "Are we being stood up" Haha! What's the one reason you'd miss a date with both the Winchester boys? Yep, you'd have to be dead! Then, of course, there-was-the-shower-scene.


I didn't know quite what to do with myself when I heard the shower running in the background. I was like, nooooo, really? Really? Yes yes yes! Ok"¦we only got a glimpse of a perfectly toned left arm, always the left arm, go look, every time Dean's shot and reveals an arm for bandaging, it's Jensen's left arm. Even Cass grabbed the left one! Even in MBV it was the left one! It was pointed out to me that we do get to see the right one in the back seat of the Impala action scene and thankfully it matches, but when an arm is specifically featured, it's always the left. Ummm, I've over thought this haven't I? 


ANYWAY, what I really loved about the shower scene was not the arm reach, wet hair tussle, glimpse of towel in the steaming mirror, it was the fact that Dean showered with the door open and that Sam and him continued to yell at each other room to room. Why did I love that? Because it showed a renewed level of ease, comfort and intimacy between the brothers. All of these things, the car dinner, the funny convo in the diner, the yelling at each other through an open bathroom door, is all stuff that smacks of being comfortable with someone and it smacks of trust and these tiny things are what I've been noticing more and more as the season has progressed and I really like it. It makes me happy. It's the little things, and the shower scenes.

Of course, we're still dancing around the Leviathan issue. We've not seen much of them of late"¦but I've been thinking about this. If you cast your mind back to all the big bads, we rarely saw any of them and more often than not, they're mentioned only in passing as Sam and Dean go about their day job of saving people and hunting things, while trying to figure out how to save the world and defeat the latest evil. The big bad generally takes a back seat to their every day. It was the same with Azazel, Lilith, Lucifer. They were all present, but not present and the boys did a lot of other work in between figuring out what to do about the big picture problem. So, at the moment, I'm ok with how the Leviathan thing is timing out. But I do want to know what they're digging up all over the place. But that's the point right? I want to know.


"Of Grave Importance"may not have been everyone's cup of tea, but I thoroughly enjoyed this one. I liked the tone. The creepy house story and emotional thread gelled for me. I was happy with how they positioned Bobby in the story and I was happy with, if desperately saddened by the honest and realistic response to his appearance to the boys. I don't like him being a ghost and I can't imagine ever being in a place where I'm cool with it, but I'm damn well intrigued with where we're going with his story, with Cass' story and whether or not the Leviathan are toast this season or get carried through? I mean, technically, this is a storyline carried over from season 6, so who's not to say this isn't part of a larger arc. Only time will tell. I also have a sneaking suspicion now that the boys have Bobby back, they ain't gonna want to let him go, but I also have a sneaking suspicion the worst is yet to come for ghost Bobby Singer. So much to look forward to and only 4 damn episodes left. Can you believe that? Even with all the horrible breaks, this season has flown by. I like season 7 a lot, especially this second half. I can't wait for 8, ANNOUNCE ALREADY!

Thank you for reading. Feel free to let fly with your comments.

See you next time!

Please enjoy this gratuitous towel in the mirror shot (It's a gap right? In the towel? I told you I studied this scene for hours...)

- sweetondean

Comments  

Geordiegirl1967
# Geordiegirl1967 2012-04-21 22:40
I agree with your review. I loved this ep.

I particularly like what you said about the brothers relationship. They are in a good place at the moment. I just wish we could have had a couple of really good brotherly moments this season. The writers have been very stingy with them. I hope they are building up to some great ones towards the end of the season.

The only bit I don't agree with is your assertion that lots of people didn't like it. On the boards I frequent it has been very well received. So far it is rated on average 9.2/10 on TV.com, and 9.1/10 on IMDB putting it among the most popular of this seasons eps on both sites.
sweetondean
# sweetondean 2012-04-21 22:52
That's good to hear. The bulk of what I read was pretty negative and I couldn't quite grasp why. Glad I was reading the wrong feedback! :-)
Alice
# Alice 2012-04-22 02:22
I actually have to agree with Geordiegirl1967 , I've read a ton of positive comments from fans. Of course most fans are admitting there are flaws, but overall they were happy with the ep. But I'm sure there are other boards that didn't like it. The opinions are always so varied!
belluvsmiami
# belluvsmiami 2012-04-21 22:40
Ah! Well I didn't know it was mainly a ghost/bobby episode because I didn't watch the promo or read about any until I accidentally seen a Bobby GIF on Tumblr the day before.


So...well I like that the boys can finally see Bobby. I'm glad they didn't drag that out too much but I'm with you.


Real Bobby or no Bobby. Its good to see Jim on screen again but I didn't want him staying around in the afterlife either.


Sam face when he admits he slept with Annie was my other favorite scene as for the towel scene - the arm porn (we are such fan girls) and the hair tussle. Just great scenes.
Michelle Kinseth
# Michelle Kinseth 2012-04-21 22:47
So I basically agree with every. single. sentence. here.

:)

Well, I enjoyed "Party On, Garth" more than you; but I also tend to rewatch the most emotionally devestating, angsty episodes too...so in that case this one will get a lot of repeat viewings from me.

I love your take on Sam and Dean's reactions to Bobby at the end, and I completely agree that wishing and hoping for something versus actually getting that something can result in very different emotions. Poor Bobby...

I'm not sure how I feel about the possibility of Bobby coming back to life. I hated that he was killed, and I'm loving that he's "back", albeit a ghost, but there was something brave about killing him in the first place and the emotion of his death would be completely cheated if he were to magically be brought back. So I guess, as much as I want Bobby forever to be on my TV helping the guys, I hope he's not resurrected. :-\

I also loved your take on the showering with the door open...I hadn't thought of it from that angle. When I first saw it, I thought it odd - and I questioned the amount of steam accumulating in the bathroom when the door was wide open. But I digress. That scene, and the restaurant one, were brilliant. I was so happy to see the brother's relationship make an actual appearance this week since it'd been so sporadic episodes prior.

Only four more to go. Ugh. I am going to HATE this summer hellatus. :(

Lastly...WHERE'S BABY! All I want is the Impala back! Ah!!!
sweetondean
# sweetondean 2012-04-21 22:56
I have to agree with you on the Bobby thing, but my gut says they will bring him back rather than do away with him forever, in which case I'd prefer he was real as opposed to a ghost. But I totally agree with you here, it was brave to kill him in the first place and I don't want that emotion impact of his death to be depleted in anyway.
Michelle Kinseth
# Michelle Kinseth 2012-04-21 23:00
If I had to choose I'd rather he be real than a ghost, so we can agree on that! I guess we'll see how it plays out. I heard there's gonna be a big cliffhanger for the finale (spoiler??? I don't think so??)...could be interesting!
digyd
# digyd 2012-04-21 23:16
My laptop is in a coma and i don't feel like going downstairs to my desktop, so I guess I will keep this short and sweet because i have to do this on my phone.

This was the most fun episode yet, and I did love Garth. Maybe "fun" is the wrong word, but I was so excited the whole time because this just felt so different than anything they have ever done in the entire series. I suppose it was because we spent so much time in ghost world, which I know we did before when the reapers were disappearing. Still, this felt different.

I loved so much about this. Part of it was the maturity of the guys and Dean's sensible way of looking at this after all his grief. Now, i too thought it weird Sam didn't figure out a long time ago why he might not be able to contact Bobby, but in fairness all the other ghosts have come and gone as they pleased despite the whereabouts of the object keeping them there. That part is a tad confusing. But you know what washes away confusion? Dean. In a shower. And a towel.

Excuse me while I take a moment.

I'm back. You know what else dashes confusion to the ground? Dean. Standing with his back to us. Lol! Like Superman. (yeah, baby, you're a super man, alright.)

Excuse me, I need another moment.

This wasn't short and sweet, was it? Time to rewatch this.
sweetondean
# sweetondean 2012-04-21 23:28
I nearly used that standing with his back to us shot.... in fact let me go post that on my tumblr right now! ;-)
digyd
# digyd 2012-04-21 23:32
Thank you, Amy. Thank you.
jily4
# jily4 2012-04-21 23:54
Thank you. I always love your reviews and mostly always agree with you. This was a great episode and you made it better. The gap in the towel,wow, I had missed that. LOL Maybe time to buy a new TV.... I too have loved the boys relationahip and especially how it played out this episode. I hope the writers find a way to bring Bobby back that makes sense and honors his death. I don't think coming back to life will dishonor the death, that was an amazing episode and will always be. I just want Bobby back, and not as a ghost. Can't see how that could work.

I also liked that this was scary. I have missed that in SPN.

Only 4 episodes remain. Very, very sad!!!!!

Thanks, again.
Katjakay
# Katjakay 2012-04-22 00:02
Your reviews have become the ones I can't wait to read, they are well thought out, well written and get to the guts of the story and still a little humor on the side. I pretty much agree with all your thoughts this week (I don't always, but still enjoy reading anyway, goes to that well thought out part)
I've enjoyed the slow build of the Leviathans, when you have a season arcing big bad, when they are in too many episodes, it's way to easy to get tired of them halfway through the season
Pragmatic Dreamer
# Pragmatic Dreamer 2012-04-22 00:24
Hi Sweetondean,

I really enjoyed this very thought-provoki ng, and hormone-inducin g episode!

Who knew armpit hair and a flash of the underside of triceps could be so damn sexy? And the damp hair.... It made Dean look so young and vulnerable. (He also looked so much shorter than Sam during that scene. Angles? No boots and Sam had boots on?)

In fact, I find it kind of interesting that Dean can, almost simultaneously, look old and worn out by all he's seen & experienced, and then the scene shifts slightly and he looks 19-years old, and innocent.

I agree with your feelings regarding Dean reaction to seeing Bobby. I think Dean was sad & disappointed, but not angry that Bobby choose to stay. But Dean had just really wanted to believe there is peace waiting for all of them. To believe the burden of this existence continues after our hearts stop, is almost too much for him to bear. And he really doesnt want more lives or souls sacrificed for him & Sam. Plus, he's a generous person. He wants that peace for Bobby, because he loves him. He wants that peace for Sam (one day, but not today.. he desperately needs him here & now ) And he wants to believe John & Mary have that peace somewhere too, despite what Ash told him about not being able to find them in Heaven.

I think Dean's view of the natural order has been completely changed by his day of Death. He has a most intimate knowledge now of what happens when that order is tampered with -- the problems and pain that continue to ripple from one small change.

I think in the past 5+ years Dean has reflected many times, not only on his encounter with Tessa, but even further back to his electrocution and faith/bound reaper healing at the hands of Roy LeGrange. I think Dean believes that so much hurt, and so much death (not only his & Sam's, but Ellen, Jo, Bobby, Ash, Rufus and all the innocent victims of the almost Apocalypse) could have been avoided if he had died then. When his damaged heart didn't kill him, the natural order started to slip. His life at the cost of his Dad's soul further pushed it out of whack. And he knows that selling his soul to save Sam really got things spinning out of control. I believe if he could back in time, he would die from that electrocution.

I also find it intriguing that Dean keeps repeating what Bobby says. Maybe a bit of the shining, even foreshadowing? Also, the boys don't seem to be able to see Bobby all the time, because it didn't seem as if they were noticing him in the back of the car. I think he took some of the power from VanNess and thats how they saw him at the house (kind of like a flashback spell in Harry Potter)

As for Bobby, I think he was getting another taste of parenting - doing something you think is really special and wonderful and helpful and supportive for your kids, and then discovering that it was definitely not what they wanted or needed. It can only lead to hurt feelings. And Bobby always had a bit of curmudgeonly streak to him. He can be snippy when hes emotionally vulnerable.

Speculation on future episodes - Bobby is going to play a role in bringing down the Leviathan.. He may remain as a ghost because if he can help the boys that will likely stave off the frustration that causes ghosts to get angry & vengeful (he`ll have to figure out some easier ways to manifest himself)... I think Death himself is going to make a visit and that may have some role to play in what Bobby becomes in the future.. And I still think Michael the archangel will have a cameo.

Thanks for listening!

Pragmatic Dreamer
sweetondean
# sweetondean 2012-04-22 01:13
You lost me briefly at armpit hair when I drifted off to a happy place, but I completely agree with you, if Dean could turn back the hands of time and take back all the interfering with the way things should have been, he'd do it in a flash, especially if that meant the people he loves would no longer suffer or die. He breaks my heart....and simultaneously throws my into a whirl of hormonal flurries the likes of which I have never known! :-)
rmoats8621
# rmoats8621 2012-04-22 00:40
This was a wonderful review. Unlike you tho...I only liked this episode. I didn't love it, but it did come with some great moments which you explored in your article. My heart really goes out to the guys this season. The writers have really stripped them down. I hope we have enough episodes left to see them start to rise out of the ashes with great resolve and ability to kick some much needed butt!

In addition, I just wanted to add that I look forward to reading your reviews as I do the other writers here on this site. Such an amazing and talented staff!!! :D
PENNY JAIME
# PENNY JAIME 2012-04-22 01:47
AHHH, SWEETONDEAN, MY FAV WRITER! I loved this epi also. only thing that could have made it better, was a see through shower curtain!!! (oh well!!). I had to watch it today on my laptop, cw was out last night in my area

People have been complaining, but the only thing I would have changed about this season is Sam & Dean's reaction to Bobby's death. No tears??? That bugged me. Dean cried over losing his dream life (djinn epi-AND one of my all time fav scenes in the graveyard; I watch it over and over again. Especially when I need a good cry), but nothing when they lost Bobby? But, that is a small thing. I really look forward to each new epi. Only 4 left. Wow, my week will be sooooo very boring!!!

I just wish, since it almost summer break time, that they wouldn't make us wait until the new season is starting to put out the dvd's/ I mean summer is when we are jonz'ing for Supernatural fix.
sweetondean
# sweetondean 2012-04-22 02:19
Nawwww :lol:
You know what I think about the not crying for Bobby thing...we picked up a week later, who knows what they went through in that time. And their grief was so palatable, we never really saw them straight after he died. I'm sure they cried, a lot.
Bharti Bedi
# Bharti Bedi 2012-04-22 02:21
As always, a great analysis.
To the main point now, i had never realized the left-arm theory before this. But now that i think about it, yes, it has always been the left one! Great observation there. As was the superman stance. But most of all, thanks for putting in words the emotion of every deangirl on seeing Dean in the shower. Sigh.
KELLY
# KELLY 2012-04-22 14:33
I'm not specifically a Dean girl but I had plenty of emotion on that one too.
tmateotb
# tmateotb 2012-04-22 02:39
As always, I agreed with everything you wrote...and laughed a lot while reading your review! I cant understand how people would be upset with Dean. Did they not SEE his face in the house when he was trying to come to grips with Bobby being there? To steal fangirl speak, he was feeling 'all of the feelings'. Actions, not words, is Dean's thing. This ep had laughs, angst and action. I thought a few small areas were weak, namely the younger actors that were murdered, and how Sam and Dean looked so silly glancing around for a ghost that they couldn't see, and although I realise that's the direction J&J would have been given it didn't sit well with me for them to be such civilians about it, for lack of a better word. Also, I LOVED the woman that played Annie. When she was looking at her own dead body, it killed me! She was so good. Her and Jim had excellent chemistry too, both awesome actors. Thank you Amy, great review!
oh, PS. The writers are such teases! They totally knew what fangirls would be thinking during the conversation through the bathroom door, and then? Absolutely no follow through! Haha, lucky we love them anyway!
EireneS
# EireneS 2012-04-22 03:18
Really liked this episode. Best Bobby line ever-"I can kill a werewolf, bake cornbread and fix a pinto. I'll be damned if I can't get Zen". Hilarious.
Love Annie-her little flirts with Bobby and her sense of humor and her toughness-and all as a ghost. No wonder Bobby, Sam and Dean slept with her-she was one tough, nice looking, kind cookie.
I'm worried about the fate of Bobby. I am sure he has a pivotal role to play in fighting the Leviathans. But after that?
I agree with Dean-that it is not the natural order for Bobby to not have crossed over. As Tessa said-chaos and sadness will follow. How can Dean and Sam accept that happening to Bobby-their hearts broke the first time he died. Do they have to kill him-at least his ghost spirit- again?
I loved Sam and Dean working together so well-loved the mutual respect and support and the brotherly ease around each other.
Good job writers and, of course Jim, Jared and Jensen.
Gwen
# Gwen 2012-04-22 04:32
Count me in with the many who liked this episode. In fact, I loved this episode. I agree with you, I think Sam and Dean's reactions regarding Bobby were spot on at the end. Dean had already, in the restaurant scene , talked about how even though he wants to see Bobby, it doesn't mean that they should. These boys know what it means to buck the natural order and what that eventually brings. The boys don't want that for Bobby, as much as they miss him they want him to be at peace. Plus the boys know he chose to stay because of them so they've got guilt added to the whole heap load of pain and shock. Plus they now have to potentially face losing him all over again (unless they can make it work somehow) and just when they were starting to slowly regain some equilibrium after the emotional chaos of bereavement. :cry: The last scene was so sad, I loved Sam wondering if maybe they could make it all work, asking Dean what he thought they should do now. He looked so very little brothery in that scene. Dean's ever so resigned 'what are the odds it ends well' was so gut wrenchingly ominous.

I loved that the episode was a ghost hunt and that we saw things from the ghost perspective. It felt like an episode from the early seasons - a huge plus point in my eyes as I'm someone who considers S1-3 to be the classic years.

Loved all the Bobby and Annie scenes. I'd have liked to have seen more of Annie, I wish she'd been introduced at an earlier time in the series so we could have seen her a few times before she got killed off.

I loved that the boys worked together and didn't separate in this episode and that they weren't doing their Fed routine. My favourite part was definitely the brotherly moments. I loved that we got to see the brotherly relationship in this episode. The restaurant scene was wonderful, Sam's face when he talked about his 'encounter' with Annie was priceless :lol: To paddle in the shallows for a moment, I thought thatSam/Jared was looking rather pretty in that scene too.
The shower scene was fun. Dean's shower hair was cute. I'd not thought about the door being open but I like your take on that. Those boys certainly are comfortable being around each other now. Personal space sure doesn't seem to be much of an issue, when they were talking to the museum guy Sam's stood so close to Dean, just behind Dean's shoulder, it's like they are joined at the hip. :D
My favourite scene was the tiny moment when Sam was being attacked and Dean yelled Sam's name and then later put his hand on Sam's back to steady his brother. I'm such a sucker for a Sam- in- peril/big brother protective Dean scene. :lol:
Oops...sorry I've rambled so much and thank you for a great review.
Chokousei
# Chokousei 2012-04-22 05:01
Completely agree with you about the opening and shower scenes. So happy to see the boys so comfortable with each other. I calpped my hands when Bobby wrote on the mirror.
Not sure for one point only. I thought Bobby had absorbed the soul of the angry ghost, well, at least all the energy which was saved and stored inside the angry ghost. That's why Bobby can be seen now, right? Is this a bid similar to the S6 Cas? To absorb the energy (souls) make him powerful and some how corrupt him. He may use this method ( to absorb some powerful spirit or beings) to gather enough power to fight Dick? Hopefully the writers won't do this, or else it will be a repeat of Cas's methodology. And awesome review like always.
ryder21
# ryder21 2012-04-22 05:21
Great review Sweetondean, I always really enjoy reading them.

Although I enjoyed this episode, at the end I was left feeling sad, sad for the boys and in particular Dean. At lunch it seems that he in particular is just beginning to come out of the other side of the grieving process: Here's to ghosts that aren't there...You sound disappointed... Maybe its better this way, although I wish we could see him again, doesn't mean we should.
It seems Dean is accepting that it's time to move on and this is reinforced with his conversation with Sam by the side of the car.

When Sam and Dean finally see Bobby, the emotions that flick across their faces are heartbreaking, they are at a loss, awash with conflicting thoughts. Although I really love Bobby, I am torn by the fact that just as the boys are getting over it, they may have to again begin the grieving process when ghost Bobby goes. More angst.

On a positive, I loved the conversation between the brothers over lunch and their shared tastes. The interaction between Bobby and Annie (who I loved) was fluid and entertaining. Annie is one tough chick, shown especially when she questions the afterlife while staring at he bloodied corpse.

Although I know this episode was here for a reason, to introduce ghost Bobby and showcase a firmer relationship between Sam and Dean, I feel that the boys were slightly sidelined this episode and sometime made to look a bit.....slow(!) Yea, Im with you on this one guys.

The tone and feel of the episode was right, from the bright cheery hotel room (for a change) to emphasise the boys cheery (!) relationship, to the darkness and shadows (something we are all familiar with) of the haunted house.

The most important scene however was the shower scene and I made sure to study this frame by frame. That famous left are sure gets a work out, but why oh why is there such a lapse between when Dean reaches for his towel and when he notices the writing on the mirror. Couldn't this have happened several minutes earlier when he still had his shirt off? Thats just cruel.
Oh yea...backshot of Superman Dean, wait....I need a minute here.

BTW Sweetondean, Appointment in Samarra is one of my favourite episodes as well.
Ginger
# Ginger 2012-04-22 08:44
I really liked this one, too. Like you, I read a lot of comments from people who didn't, and I just don't get that. Sure, it was Winchester lite, but the emotional impact was Winchester heavy. The episode ended with Dean totally devastated (again), Sam trying to soften the blow for Dean by trying to be optimistic, and me as devastated as Dean. Here's why.

Dean knows Bobby's choice was wrong. Sam knows it, and so does Bobby. This is bad news, particularly for Dean. For me, as a viewer, there is an overall series question this episode brought up.

I got to thinking about how all the hunters that the show has shown us are depicted. Every one of them (Bobby, Rufus, Annie in this episode, Sam, Ellen, Gordon, Tamara and her husband, and Jo -- who I think was a wannabe hunter -- Lee and MasterHunter Krissy, Garth, and even Roy and Walt, CHOOSE to hunt. It's not like they couldn't do anything else and be successful with it.

In Dean's case, we have been told since the Pilot that he was born to be a 100% hunter. Yet, Dean is the only one that has been shown to wallow in his tears for years over hunting and its costs.

This episode left me feeling strongly that Dean's multi-year sub-plot of questioning why he hunts is simply never going to be resolved -- something I've waited for years for Dean to accomplish. (I hope this isn't a question the show throws out every year as a cover for not giving Dean a real role in the mytharc, but I don't want to go there, so let's drop that.) Back to the episode.

Bobby's story is the one story that has consistently been shown this season and the one story we have been left with during winter break and the mini-hiatus'. I don't know what that means, but I hope it is not that this season is being given to a support character. Was Sam used as a tool to bring Cas back? Was Dean's depression/drin king used as a tool to bring Ghost Bobby into the story? I hope not.

I am not in favor of a permanent Ghost Bobby or a Resurrected Bobby. If Bobby remains a ghost, Dean's story was pointless. If Bobby is resurrected, Dean's story is even more pointless and the audience was jerked around. If Bobby chooses to move on of his own accord, and with Dean accepting that because he spent the season working through the grieving process, then it is a bittersweet end to Dean's story, the audience was jerked around, and I see no resolution as to Dean questioning why he hunts.

Yeah, there were things not right about this episode, but I love a good ghost story and I think this one had a real S2 flavor to it. I liked it a lot and I liked the concept. I do question putting on episodes with very little Sam and Dean in them coming off a long break. That was the biggest complaint with Ghostfacers when it aired, and that is one of my very, very favorites.
cd28
# cd28 2012-04-22 09:59
I agree with your thoughts on Dean's reaction to Bobby. It seemed realistic to me - more so than if they had welcomed his choice without question. I also bristled at Bobby's comment that they had gotten slower without him. It was like he was making an inside joke about the boys being dumbed down, but I'm not ready to laugh at that yet.

I wouldn't call the opening scene on the car a brotherly moment, seeing as Sam didn't have a single line of dialogue. I need both brothers present and participating, so that took away from the scene for me. But otherwise, nice review.
Karen
# Karen 2012-04-22 11:22
Hi Sweetondean
I enjoyed your review and agree with your perspective.
Mark me down as one who really liked this episode.
I know there was some scratch your head moments, like why didn’t Bobby know the boys had had a foxhole encounter with Annie, he had rocked the flask so he was obviously in the restaurant at the time.
I’m with you about Sam’s melon being a little out of sorts for him not to put together that Bobby was tethered to the flask and therefore was not able to communicate with him.
I took that the boys were finally able to see him because Whitman ghost passed on his strengths to Bobby as he burned up. I believe over time Bobby would have been able to become visible at will once he developed his abilities. We’ve seen it before in other episodes like Asylum and The Usual Suspects and with Whitman, Victoria and Dexter.

I really liked the Annie character, she remind me so much of Ellen. I loved the chemistry between her and Bobby. I wish we could have had more episodes with her.

I loved the teamwork between the brothers in this episode. They didn’t go off on their own, they stuck together and worked things out. Even during Dean’s shower they kept discussing the case. I have to admit it did surprise me that Dean would leave the bathroom door wide open during his shower, but I agree with you that it did give us a sense of trust and comfort between them, something that has been missing between them for some time now.

I really felt for Bobby in this episode. Seeing his frustration in trying to communicate with the boys and when he finally was able too, they didn’t react the way he had expected. I do understand the boys fearing that this will probably lead to nothing good.
It does look like the writers are either leaning to Bobby becoming a vengeful spirit and the brothers possibly having to burn the flask. Or Bobby being sacrifice in some way to end Roman and his fellow Levi’s.
I too am not a fan of Bobby remaining as a ghost. I would like him be resurrected or if must be to pass on. If Bobby was to pass on I would prefer to have it that Bobby was ready to go, that he knew it was his time. I would want the boys being able to say their goodbyes and then watch him either walk into the light (like Molly) or dissipate (like John) or stand by his side while he and the flask burned away.
I just want everyone to be at peace with the decision, with no guilt, no regrets and with no resentment.
EireneS
# EireneS 2012-04-22 12:57
Karen-I fully agree with your last sentence-I want everyone to be at peace with the decision, with no guilt, no regrets and with no resentment. Me too. When John dissapated, I think both the boys were grateful for his help and for one last look at their Dad, but there was no regret, guilt or resentment that he passed on at last. That would be nice if the same could be written for Bobby.

I remember viewing one of the conventions on you tube and Dean was asked about the writers breaking the rules and Dean said "what rules". Also, Cass said as he was facing off with the archangel in Chuck's house "we're making it up as we go". I believe that is generally the philosophy of the writers-they are writing fiction horror and, with time, circumstances and the characters change, so they adapt to that.

Sporty 883 mentioned "oh yea-backside of Superman Dean...wait, I need a moment" Perhaps I missed something here-was there a scene of Deans backside that I missed? Enlighten me please.

Dean knows he' a killer (You Can't Take The Truth) and Sam is resigned to the hunter life, but that doesn't mean they have to like it or not feel anger, resentment, fear about their lives. And the characters have been through so much-life, death, hell, torture, friends and family dying-no wonder Dean is not liking his job. I loved Frank Deveraux's and Elliot Ness' advice on hunting and continuing on with the job-keep smiling like you mean it and stop boo hooing about the job.

Again, really liked this episode- the little stuff not making a lot of sense doesn't bother me much when the general story is very well written and acted.
digyd
# digyd 2012-04-22 15:47
Go back to the 1st scene in the hotel room when Bobby is sitting at the table across from Sam. Dean is standing facing the wall where they have a bunch of stuff posted. You will see, but don't blink. It's not THAT long. Freeze and enjoy. :-)
PENNY JAIME
# PENNY JAIME 2012-04-22 13:43
As far as Bobby goes ( AND OF COURSE I COULD BE VERRRRY WRONG, BECAUSE I DON'T REALLY KNOW) I think that Dick & the Leviathans are his unfinished busn. Once they are dealt with, it could be just like Road kill and he moves on. Or like their Dad after he helped Dean kill Azazel in the graveyard. But I'm not a writer. We will see what they do soon I'm sure
Tim the Enchanter
# Tim the Enchanter 2012-04-22 15:11
Really stupid question time. Backside 'Superman Dean' stance?

We're trying to figure it out over on Cbox and can't so we're either too old (all those guys) or too young (me, of course!) to remember Superman but huh??
digyd
# digyd 2012-04-22 15:52
Ya'll not gonna make me feel old up in here, Tim. No ya'll not! Lol! We've got rain knockin out our power right now, or else I would get a pic for you. But I have to post this via my phone. So google Superman images and you don't even have to ho all the way back to Christopher Reeves to find one of him standing with his legs slightly apart, fists on hips. Turn him around, lose the cape and you've got Dean in that hotel room. Amy said she'd post it on tumblr too. Hope that helps!
sweetondean
# sweetondean 2012-04-22 16:51
It is indeed on my tumblr!
Bevie
# Bevie 2012-04-22 16:27
Sweetondean, you are one of my two most loved reviewers. You and Gaelicspirit. I would include Bardicvoice, but she is on hiatus for this season it seems. I do miss her writings a lot.

Loved the shower scene and wish it could have been extended a bit to show the trip from the shower to the mirror in its entirety. Anyway, woohoo to wet Dean and his wet hair! :D

So happy the boys are getting back in the groove to trusting and being together. No FBI this time and no separating. That makes it so much better.

Completely understand Dean's reaction to seeing Bobby, but felt so so sad and hurt for both Bobby and Dean. Sammy tried to lessen the hurt for Bobby, but Dean wants peace for his father figure so very badly it must have torn his heart out to know Bobby chose to stay for them.

As far as Bobby is concerned, I want him to be back in the flesh somehow (don't really care how) as I love him dearly too. As far as cheapening his death episode, it wouldn't cheapen anything for me. Did Dean coming back in Lazarus Rising cheapen the impact of No Rest for the Wicked? No way. I still suffer just as much watching Dean go to hell even knowing he'll be back in the next episode. And Bobby has died before and been brought back by Cas. Maybe Cas can do it again if he regains all his angel mojo. Zachariah told Chuck he would bring him back if he killed himself, so it seems they are quite capable of doing that. Why let that dick Dick be the one to off our Bobby? I hope Dean gets to eviscerate that levi in a really badass manner as he did when he offed that whole vampire nest. Love badass Dean! He's so very cool! 8)

I too missed the Superman pose, so please elaborate? I may be old, but my hormones are still kicking up a storm when it comes to showers and "the Dean'. ;-)
suzee51
# suzee51 2012-04-22 16:59
[quote name="Bevie") I too missed the Superman pose, so please elaborate? I may be old, but my hormones are still kicking up a storm when it comes to showers and "the Dean'.

OK Bevie, look at the part while they are running credits at the beginning when Annie has "stood them up" at the restaurant so the boys decide to go check out her motel room. Sam is sitting at the table with Bobby sitting across from him and Dean walks to Sam's side. Bobby flutters the curtain then says: "Guys?" Immediately the camera swings to Dean who is facing the wall with all of Annie's info tacked on it. This is the pose everybody enjoyed because he has struck a "Superman" pose - with his legs braced slightly apart and his fists planted on his hips. While he is fully clothed (too fully! wish he didn't always wear so damn many layers!) you can really enjoy the broad shoulders, slim waist and muscular build. The point being that Dean is yummy from the back as well as from the front!

Maybe we are just TOO easily entertained by anything Dean? Nah!!!!! :D
Bevie
# Bevie 2012-04-23 14:28
Thanks suzee51! I see it now! Would like to see it from the front as well. Oh well!

Dean entertains with a bare arm, armpit hair, and combing his wet hair with his hands. Not easily, just waiting for the good stuff. A glimpse of skin under all those layers is extremely entertaining! :D
sweetondean
# sweetondean 2012-04-22 17:01
Oh my gosh Bevie, thank you so much, that is wonderful company you put me in!
As for Superman stance Dean, can you access tumblr? I put it up there just for @digyd so if you visit sweetondean.tum blr.com you'll see his resplendent hands on hips full back shot. It's pretty damn spectacular! ;-)
suzee51
# suzee51 2012-04-22 17:29
Quote:
As for Superman stance Dean
"Superman wears Dean Winchester pajamas."
digyd
# digyd 2012-04-22 18:01
lol, Suzee51! Love it! Now how does he stand against Chuck Norris, hmmm? :lol:
digyd
# digyd 2012-04-22 18:10
YES! Yes she did and yes he is! I wish I had carpet in my office because I am about to hit the floor - again. Sweeeeeetttt.
Bevie
# Bevie 2012-04-23 14:30
Thanks. Don't know why I missed it the first time. Cleaning my glasses maybe. :-)
Haleh
# Haleh 2012-04-22 17:56
Great recap Amy! :)

I couldn't agree more with you.
I loved the episode & all the brotherly moments. The whole "taking shower with open door" you mentioned was a neat observation about their relationship & I agree!
I really liked Annie...I was actually so sad when she died. she wasn't a mother figure nor a love interest(tho the boys had a "thing" w/ her) she was a bad a** hunter/fella. She was kinda cool.
I also loved the lighting. Kudos to Serge Ladouceur!

And about Dean's reaction to Bobby, he was so right and it makes my heart ache even thinking about the fact that Dean might have to hunt Bobby's ghost one day! :( Hasn't he been through enough?

Let me not talk about the shower scene cause I'm about to hit the hay & my dreams will get dirty! :D
digyd
# digyd 2012-04-22 18:04
Is that all it takes to get him into your dreams, Haleh? Lucky you! I have managed to have exactly ONE, count it ONE dream about the man and you know what I had a nerve to say to him in my dream? "Sorry. I'm married."

What?! What the heck?! I coulda slapped myself when I woke up. Darn fidelity runs deeper than I realized. :P
Haleh
# Haleh 2012-04-23 16:15
Haha...I wish!
sylia91
# sylia91 2012-04-22 20:55
I also liked this episode and really liked Annie. She reminded me of a young Ellen Harvelle. I also agree that it speaks to the boys' love for Bobby that instead of feeling happy that he hung around to help them, and they do need all the help they can get, they thought unselfishly of what he was sacrificing to be there. They know better than anyone what is waiting on the other side. Dean is right to be pessimistic, when have things gone the right way for the Winchesters personally? They may save the world over and over again but at great personal cost. I love the way the episode was an entertaining way to give us ghost 101 and describe Bobby's situation without prolonged boring exposition. I imagined somehow that Whitman was a particularly powerful ghost after absorbing all the others over the years that somehow some of that transferred to Bobby when the boys torched Whitman and that is why they could see him in the end and Bobby seemed much more corporeal .
KELLY
# KELLY 2012-04-22 22:46
I liked Annie a lot. I'm kind of impressed now the writers are killing off people BEFORE we even know we like them.LOL.
I liked her chemistry with Bobby and wished we'd got scenes with her and the boys.
Favorite scene is the restaurant scene. Luckiest woman on earth!!! And that scene- Sam's face was so adorable "She was stressed and I didn't have a soul" and Dean's lines "She and I kind of went Hemingway once too." and "That's a lot of Foxholes." I keep rewinding it just to watch that scene.
They had a bunch of good moment this episode. I liked them sitting on the car eating tacos too. (although I'm paranoid and wondering if that has some link to the Leviathan-I'm mean come on this is the second time this season we've seen Sam eat. Probably overthinking again though). I loved when Dean grabbed Sam after the ghost tried to get him. And the little boy look Sam briefly got when asking if they could make it work.
But my second favorite moment was the shower scene and not just for wet Dean and naked arm (leading to thoughts of naked other parts....sorry black out for a minute), but because it did seem so easy between them again. I didn't ever really think it was odd. But my sister and I have had conversations through shower curtains before. And these two have practically lived on top of one another their whole lives (no icky insinuations intended). I loved the look on Dean's then Sam's face as the see the writing on the mirror and realize its Bobby.
I've missed Bobby so much. I enjoyed seeing him learning his ghost moves. I wasn't bothered by the "they've gotten slower" line. He always gives them a hard time. Even idjit is just basically another way of saying idiot. He does it with affection and anyone who knows him knows it. I'm sure Annie did.
Oh I liked that Annie knew to call them for Bobby's books and how all the hunters tell them "Sorry to hear about Bobby" Because it must be common knowledge how much they mean to each other.
I like the scene at the end too. I thought that seemed very realistic. As much as they want him close they want what's best for him too and how can that be life as a ghost. I think he'll have to be back in the flesh or move on at the end of the season. I don't think he'll continue as a ghost into the next season. I'm kind of worried that it's going to be the former. That they might have to let him go again but I hope not. I love Bobby.
Also Loved the Superman pose.
Vanda
# Vanda 2012-04-23 05:30
Loved the classic old style haunted house story line. Love seeing the guys, be like brothers again... Also loved you review, as I always do. You covered a lot of what made this episode so great.
Yirabah
# Yirabah 2012-04-23 12:46
I liked that ep too for all the above mentioned reasons. But I wouldn't go as far as giving it a 10. A nine maybe. I know the writers are still able to do a even better job. We been there. We seen it.

But I had a few thoughts concerning Bobby.

First: Help me here people. Sweetondean wrote: I thought giving Bobby’s reintroduction a haunted house setting was a good (you can say convenient if you like) way to allow Bobby to explore his ghostly traits. - And this ep Bobby is trying to learn how to move things. That is ok for this ep but now I want to know how he was able to do the other things before. E.g. move the flask on the restaurant table during this ep or in earlier eps, drink the beer, move the sword back into Dean's hand etc. How was he supposed to do those things if he didn't know how to move objects till he learned it in the haunted house?

Second: Imagine this during future eps. Whenever Dean goes somewhere he knows that Bobby is with him. So I can fully see Dean telling ghost Bobby "Sorry, I leave the flask in the motel since I hope to score and don't want you to watch!" or Sam and Dean feeling akward because they know ghost Bobby is sitting in the rear seat. That must feel like young teenagers wanting to go out for some adventures time but their parents will come with them in the back seat "We won't interfere. We will only keep an eye on you!" - Akward - as I said.

And no Tim I am not to old!

Bye the way anyone going to the con in Germany?
sweetondean
# sweetondean 2012-04-23 17:27
Ok here's one for you, what about when Dean got it on with the Amazon chick? We know he had the flask with him because he accidentally left it there! I soooo want Dean to have this revelation. Geesh! Awkward or what?
digyd
# digyd 2012-04-23 17:37
lol! My oh my. THAT would be an interesting revelation for him, huh? It'll be something for me to ponder when they start rerunning the season when it's all done.
Yirabah
# Yirabah 2012-04-24 01:07
You're right, we had that already. Now, how do we let Dean know about that.
Sylvie
# Sylvie 2012-04-24 08:25
First of all, let me thank you for the gratuitous shot of Dean in a towel (no t-shirt would have been better, but oh, well). Being a Dean girl, I'm always happy to see Dean show some well-toned skin.

Okay, now that's out of the way, on to what I thought of the episode. I've watched it three times and I must say, it has grown on me. The first time, I was falling asleep, so I guess that one doesn't count, but by the third, I was really liking it. It was filmed in the house where they filmed "Playthings", my favourite ghost story from the show. I was very happy to see Bobby again, but I agree with you Amy, it's got to be corporeal Bobby or no Bobby at all. And it really hit me when you pointed out there were only 4 episodes left, I can't believe it's almost over. Sounds like they might continue the Leviathan storyline into season 8.

I also very much liked Annie, the lucky girl being stuck in a foxhole with both Winchesters! Too bad another lady hunter had to die, but as everyone pointed out, she slept with Sam, ergo she was doomed.

Anyway, I have got to run, I have a meeting in 5 minutes, stupid work getting in the way of the Winchesters. Just wanted to thank you for your review, you are always entertaining.
digyd
# digyd 2012-04-24 09:57
Quote:
Too bad another lady hunter had to die, but as everyone pointed out, she slept with Sam, ergo she was doomed.
Insignificant point that I meant to make somewhere else I read this. The doc from Sex and Violence survived sleeping with Sam, right? Maybe she ought to teach the rest of these ladies whatever it is she knows! :-)
Sylvie
# Sylvie 2012-04-24 10:11
That's right! I forgot about her....maybe she died later on and we just don't know about it yet!
KELLY
# KELLY 2012-04-24 12:45
Now. Now. Now. We're unfair to Sammy. Souless Sam got AROUND and as far as we know ONLY 4 have died (I got the impression that's fairly low percentage) and Annie last for quite a while after. Although I do think he should try to contact as many of those women as he can. Like when people try to contact old partners when they find out they have a venereal disease. Just to give them a heads up that their life span has been possibly been significantly shorten. Perhaps the CDC should put out an alert or he maybe he could start having the women sign a waiver that they have been notified of the hazards of climbing into bed (or whatever) with Sam Winchester-I still bet he'd have a lots of takers.
digyd
# digyd 2012-04-24 13:57
Agreed on all counts. I didn't forget that time since he was probably having sex as often as he ate - or more since he didn't sleep. Annie happened during that time so maybe we'll get to see more of those Ladies of Soulless Sam as time goes on. And I doubt any of the survivors will be complaining. Oh! The hooker. There's another one for ya. The one who told him he could call her on her day off? I forget the episode now but it was the one where he was doing pullups without a shirt. I know SOMEONE knows that one off the tip of their tongue. ;-)
Sylvie
# Sylvie 2012-04-25 07:54
Oh yeah, "Two and a Half Men". Who could forget shirtless Sam doing pushups? Mmmm...shirtles s Sam, nice visual for the rest of the day.
KELLY
# KELLY 2012-04-24 14:15
Oh The Third Man workout..Sigh.. . Even knowing the danger I'm sure there would be a more than few thrill seekers willing to take that ride. Look at how many people bungee jump or skydive. I mean sure statistically your chances of survival are considerably less with Sammy but the rewards......
digyd
# digyd 2012-04-24 14:38
Kelly, you are killing me. I am at work and my concentration is for naught. "So get off the site," you could logically and sensibly say. I know, I know, I would whine, but it's my email that draws me in and then you talk about thrill-ride Sam and then I feel a little guilty for cheating on Dean in my imagination with his strapping little brother who is very familiar with holding up walls, but if ever there was a risk worth taking...I wish I liked cold showers.
KELLY
# KELLY 2012-04-24 15:06
I seriously can't think of a reply that is even pg-13. The thought of the workout in conjunction with holding up walls has turned my mind into adults only content. I think I'll go watch Heart and I Know What You Did Last Summer
digyd
# digyd 2012-04-24 15:14
And I think I see fan fiction in my future, just for something a little different. ;-)
sweetondean
# sweetondean 2012-04-24 17:08
Oh my gosh! Ladies, my face hurts from laughing! Poor Sammy! But totally agree, a risk worth taking (do not tell Dean I just said that ;-) )

Thank you for making this the most entertaining of comments stream!
Sylvie
# Sylvie 2012-04-25 12:36
I work in the library of an all-girls high-school and the first thing they see when they walk in is my screen. I've had to minimize so many screen shots of hot Sam & Dean, so that they can't see what I'm looking at, otherwise the girls will go back and tell their parents what the librarian does during school time! I can just imagine the conversation: "She drools over hot guys all day and we can't check our Facebook account? So not fair!"
Nitewoman7
# Nitewoman7 2012-04-26 00:20
Hi Sweetondean,


Who knew armpit hair and a flash of the underside of triceps could be so damn sexy? And the damp hair.... It made Dean look so young and vulnerable. (He also looked so much shorter than Sam during that scene. Angles? No boots and Sam had boots on?)

Lord I loved this scene. We are so shallow :lol:

In fact, I find it kind of interesting that Dean can, almost simultaneously, look old and worn out by all he's seen & experienced, and then the scene shifts slightly and he looks 19-years old, and innocent.

Great observation the man can do anything

I believe if he could back in time, he would die from that electrocution.

Don't disagree with your comments except if Dean had stayed dead after being electrocuted we would never have had Supernatural so I'm ok with that !!!


As for Bobby, I think he was getting another taste of parenting - doing something you think is really special and wonderful and helpful and supportive for your kids, and then discovering that it was definitely not what they wanted or needed.

Great observation

Bobby is going to play a role in bringing down the Leviathan.. He may remain as a ghost because if he can help the boys that will likely stave off the frustration that causes ghosts to get angry & vengeful (he`ll have to figure out some easier ways to manifest himself)... I think Death himself is going to make a visit and that may have some role to play in what Bobby becomes in the future..

absolutely!
Nitewoman7
# Nitewoman7 2012-04-26 01:55
So wish I could get to these parties a whole lot sooner ? !!! I loved this episode. Like so many have said wonderful brotherly moments. Bobby and Annie great together and liked the Ghost 101 format. Loved when Dean and Sam finally see Bobby – the look on their faces was priceless. Last scene with Dean being so not happy to see Bobby with his “when does any of this end well” heartbreaking.
I recognized the haunted house immediately being from “Playthings†. Back to basic real ghost scary story, been too long since we’ve had a episode that felt like seasons 1 to 3.
My feelings on Bobby: I was livid when TPTB killed Bobby. I want him back period. I don’t want him as a ghost for all the reasons stated can’t do through heartbreak of Dean and Sam losing Bobby for good. Like the idea of Death returning and bringing Bobby back maybe because it wasn’t his time to die. Death knows about Leviathans and really has no use for them. Side note: with Jeremy Carver coming back for season 8 he can do so much with Bobby and the boys. Bobby’s comment “ They have got slow” to me was the same as Bobby calling them idjits – Bobby’s endearment for the boys.
Last but not least THE SHOWER SCENE my dream world has gotten so much better!!! Funny how a what 10 second scene can start a large number of comments eh? We are such wonderful fans of Dean and Sam’s shirtless scene. I have to wonder how Jensen feels realizing how much attention was paid to a simple little scene. Reminds me of SDCC at the start of season 6 when a clip was shown of EXILE ON MAINSTREET and someone yelled out Dean has his shirt tucked in. His comment “What! That’s was you guys notice could have saved us a lot of work just have that episode for season 6. course he was laughing but still baffled by us fans and what we take notice of.
SweetonDean missed the SUPERMAN stance – shucks I’ll have to rewatch hehe. Thanks for all your comments and pic (I missed the gap in the towel) rewatch again!!! But the shot I loved the most was Dean in the t-shirt with tussled wet hair. Must go find that.
Can’t believe there are only 4 episodes left then that horrible hellatus of summer.