WFBBabyBanner

Follow Us

Text Size

Mallena’s Supernatural Musings: 5.04 “The End”

A Flailing We Will Go - A Dean Girl's Thoughts Regarding Demon Dean

Fan Video of the Week: Supernatural Reflections "Lily Sunder Has Some...

Supernatural Bits & Pieces June 18, 2017

WEDNESDAY’S WATCHING SUPERNATURAL SEASON 12 RATINGS

Now Accepting Your Nominations! The WFB Supernatural Season 12 Fan...

WFB Supernatural Gift Guide

Latest Supernatural News and Spoilers

20 Jun 2017 14:00

Reportedly, Wayward Sisters (not Daughters) will be given a backdoor pilotin season 13.

20 Jun 2017 08:33

The Teen Choice Awards announced the first round of their nominations yesterday and Supernatural is

08 Jun 2017 15:20

We have a date for the end of Hellatus!

06 Jun 2017 21:28

Ty Olsson (Benny Lafitte) just won a Leo Award.

03 Jun 2017 14:53

Jared has announced the final phase of the relaunch of his AKF campaign.

01 Jun 2017 23:33

Oh yeah, we had a LOT to discuss!  This is a supersized TV Fanatic Roundtable this time, design

01 Jun 2017 15:30

Jared and Jensen have both spoken about their daughters recently.

01 Jun 2017 10:22

Jared has relaunched part five of his Always Keep Fighting campaign.

31 May 2017 08:44

We have the first information on the season 12 DVD.

26 May 2017 14:18

Jared and Gen Padalecki both spoke in support of David's Law, a Texas law which targets cyber bullyi

26 May 2017 09:14

Jared started part four of his relaunch.

24 May 2017 15:07

Editor's Note: This article chronologically presents the reports and tweets on Mark Sheppard's statu

24 May 2017 09:41

 Now that season 12 is over, our stars are working for charity.

21 May 2017 09:14

Jared has launched part two of his AKF campaign.

20 May 2017 16:46

We have a few spoilers that came out of the Jus In Bello Convention this weekend.

19 May 2017 11:25

Here are the ratings for last night's finale episodes.

18 May 2017 21:38

Well, we were uninamous, but that's not necessarily good.  All four of us at the TV Fanatic Rou

18 May 2017 15:34

Jared talks about the season finale, season 13 spoilers and relaunching his Always Keep Fighting Cam

18 May 2017 12:05

We are getting our first spoilers for next season at the CW upfront presentation.

18 May 2017 08:52

The CW has released its schedule for next season.

17 May 2017 14:21

EW has published an interview with Andrew Dabb about the final episodes of season 12.

15 May 2017 07:44

The shows continue to fall as networks are poised to announce their 2017-2018 schedule.

13 May 2017 13:42

Yes, NBC changed its mind and renewed Timeless

13 May 2017 07:14

Our wonderful Lilah Kane made screengrabs of the Shaving People, Punting Things Promo.

13 May 2017 00:46

Apologies, but the total **** storm generated by 12.21 made me forget to put up the link for the TV

12 May 2017 14:02

Here are the pictures for the finale.

12 May 2017 12:20

We have the preliminary ratings for last night's episode.

11 May 2017 21:33

The trailer for the season 12 finale

11 May 2017 07:07

It's been a bad week for our former writing staff.

10 May 2017 13:01

We have a sneak peek for episode 21.

08 May 2017 19:16

The CW canceled two freshman shows today.

08 May 2017 10:53

Jeffrey Dean Morgan won the 2017 MTV Award for Best Villain for his role as Negan on The Walking Dea

05 May 2017 14:51

We have pictures for the next episode.

05 May 2017 12:45

The ratings for episode 20  'Twigs & Twine and Tasha Banes'

04 May 2017 21:16

The trailer for the next episode.

03 May 2017 15:09

We have the sneak peek for episode 20

30 Apr 2017 15:42

Supernatural won Best Writing in Canadagraphs's "Best of TV" Awards!

28 Apr 2017 15:08

We have the pictures for episode 20.

28 Apr 2017 11:16

Here are the ratings for Supernatural's 'The Future':

27 Apr 2017 21:42

The trailer for episode 20.

27 Apr 2017 21:15

The CW has released the synopses for episode 22 and 23

25 Apr 2017 23:27

It's really funny how Nightsky and I seem to be on opposite sides of the spectrum when it comes to a

25 Apr 2017 14:28

April 24 was Baby's 50th birthday and Eric Kripke's 43rd. Congratulations flooded in from our cast.

24 Apr 2017 20:32

Andrew Dabb sat down with TV Line to discuss the end of season 12.

24 Apr 2017 12:31

TVLine and EW have posted their Season Finale Previews for several shows.

20 Apr 2017 20:55

We have the synopsis for episode 21.

WFB Feature Articles

Jun 30 2017 | Mallena

I love a good apocalypse, don’t you?  The first novel in that genre that I read was Alas, Bab

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Alycat22

(otherwise known as) Flailing, Oh Yes, There Will Be Flailing! A Dean girl's thoughts regarding

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | LK

"The truth is, I'm proud of the life I've lived so far, and though I've made my share of mistakes,

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week!

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Wednesday

  Wednesday’s Report Card for Supernatural Season 12   

This is a roundup of

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Alice

Another “Supernatural” season has come and gone and you know what that means.  It's time fo

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Mallena

The pilot of any show on television is very important.  It can catch or lose a viewer’s atten

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" visual review series for Supernatural season 12! This edit

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Samandean10

Part 1 of "Defense of Supernatural Season 12" makes the case that the return of Sam and Dean's lovin

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural around the web this week!

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | LK

 

"Place me behind prison walls - walls of stone ever so high, ever so thick, reaching ever so

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Samandean10

  To title this article a "defense" is actually a bit of a misnomer; it's more a ringing endor

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Mallena

The Road So Far

Sam has his soul back and Rufus and Grandpa Samuel have recently been killed. 

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Elle

The 250th episode! Who knew way back when the mission was searching for John and mourning Jess that

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week!

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | LK

 

"Bad things do happen; how I respond to them defines my character and the quality of my life

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Alice

It’s that time of year again!  Time when we take a look at the season gone by and through a s

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Mallena

Hi, everyone.  The nice people here at The WFB decided to let me write a series of episode

Read more...
May 31 2017 | Tanya M. Rupa

My emotions!! Even days later, they’re still reeling. One minute I’m satisfied and happy and con

Read more...
May 31 2017 | Tanya M. Rupa

“Even when I lose, I win!” Beautiful and empowering words written by Mark Sheppard regarding Cro

Read more...
May 31 2017 | Wednesday

A Powerful, Deadly Delivery with Open Doors that Diminish Dangerous Distractions.

Read more...
May 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week!

Read more...
May 31 2017 | Alice

  I struggle with Andrew Dabb scripts. While Robert Berens turned his script into a work of ar

Read more...
May 31 2017 | LK

 

"Never forget what you are, for surely the world will not. Make it your strength. Then it

Read more...
May 31 2017 | Farawayeyes

Family Don’t End with Blood: How Supernatural Has Changed Lives

Edited by Lynn Zubernis, Rel

Read more...
May 31 2017 | Alice

Thank you, thank you, thank you Robert Berens!  I just can’t say that enough.  I was lef

Read more...
May 31 2017 | Wednesday

  A Thirst Quenching Gem!

Read more...

SupernaturalSeason13
SaveSaveSaveSaveSaveSave
Save
Save
Save
Save
Save
Save
Save
Save
Save
Save
Save
Save
Save
Save
Save
Save
Save
Save

Nightsky's New Book!

Whew!  What a relief.  I was really starting to think that “Supernatural” had forgotten what it was truly about.  Thank you John Bring and Phil Sgriccia for reminding everyone.
 
While I'm not going to go as far as calling "The Memory Remains" a series classic or even a totally brilliant hour, it was a most welcome hour.  The last few weeks have been disconcerting so for this episode to address some of those issues itself makes it extraordinary.  Who knows, I might even watch this again someday.  There are very few episodes in this season where I can say that.  
 
My biggest issue with of the last few weeks was aptly addressed in this MOTW episode.  Welcome back Sam and Dean to the center focus of the story!  We really missed you guys.  No matter what great plots they give the supporting characters, the show centers around Sam and Dean and their relationship.  It’s what has always made this show extraordinary.  How refreshing though was it to see a creepy, suspenseful, engaging MOTW hunt on top Sam and Dean actually dominating the story?  It felt pretty damn good.  Sure the story was a little formulaic at first, even ludicrious when it focused on the local urban legend of "Black Bill," but eventually it built up into something interesting.  There wasn't a cartoon villain in sight, and this was a story about a guy with a goat head killing people!  That synopsis had cheesefest written all over it.  Somehow though, it added up.  
 
spn1218 0151
 
How?  One of my other recent criticisms has been how poorly the horror aspect has been done.  There was no suspense to the threat, no fright in the pit of your stomach.  This week remembered the basic elements needed for horror.  It all starts with tone, something that “The X-Files” maintained all through it’s run, even in the weak years.  Horror is grim.  It’s not supposed to be a guy just getting slashed and then show trademark blood spatter on the wall.  The setting is dark and ominous.  The cinematography sets just the right mood.  The victims are stalked and terrorized slowly before meeting their horrific end.  They were scared to death and I felt it!  I felt the terror when dude #1 was a sitting duck, mashed against that tree via inescapable barbed wire.  I felt the terror when dude #2 was trapped in the meat locker, unsuspecting Sam and Dean outside, waiting anxiously for his inevitable end at the hands of one very creepy God in between all those racks of meat in the freezing cold.
 
I was also at the edge of my seat when Sam cautiously approached the grate in the basement, looking for the supposedly trapped God underneath.  I have no idea why since we knew he wasn't in there, but the way the whole slow build was shot freaked me out.  It helps that this episode was shot by Phil Sgriccia who Is no stranger to terror and suspense on SPN.  He’s been there since season one and remembers what it was like.  It’s great to see that in that in season 12, he's still got it.  
 
Establishing that dreaded feeling early was vital to the confrontation at the end when Dean was trapped.  Of course I knew that Dean wasn't going to die.  But I was still really nervous that he was put into the meat locker of doom strapped to a chair, being stalked in the dim red lighting, knowing that even with a meat hook for a weapon that wasn't enough to take out this blood-thirsty God.  Predictable as Sam's last second save was, it was still freaking exciting to watch.  It just goes to show, tone means everything.  Not enough attention is being paid to tone every week and it's showing.  The episodes are less scary and more melodramatic now.  I adore this strong reminder of how it's supposed to be done.
 
This episode left me uneasy in other ways too and that was the foreshadowing.  Sam and Dean, carving their initials into the table was both sweetly sentimental and strangely ominous.   Since we know Sam and Dean aren't going to die, could it mean they're setting up a scenario where they have to abandon the bunker or destroy it?  The fact that the British Men of Letters can get in there so easily hints that could happen, as well as the fact that Sam and Dean's key allows them to enter any bunker in the world.  Unless the British Men of Letters are destroyed, I don’t know how Sam and Dean can stay in the bunker living productive lives.
 
spn1218 2153 
 
There was also the parallels between the sheriff and Pete and Sam and Dean.  Two sets of brothers both on different sides of the spectrum when it comes to a God of sacrifice.  Come on, Pete’s comment even cemented the polar opposites.  "I'm a Bishop. That's what we do, right? Hunting people. Killing them. The family business.”  (LOVE Dean’s reaction to that comment).  Could that symbolize the division between Sam and Dean and the British Men of Letters?  It’s a bit of a stretch, but the question is, who will be sacrificed in this ordeal?  My money is on Mary.  I have a feeling something big is coming down and no one will come out unscathed.  Or, maybe Sam and Dean and Ketch will blow away together in a dark and white cloud and spend eternity together.  (You caught me, I’m being facetious.  I’ll stop.)  
 
The sheriff was a good man who was protecting a horrible family secret.  He had to put an end to the horrors his family was inflicting with Moloch.  He’s the one that has to clean up the mess when things go wrong.  Could that be some thinly veiled symbolism that Mr. Ketch is in the same position?  That he was really feeling something when he killed Mick and that what he did was wrong?  His search of the bunker resulted in some careless errors on his part.  Putting the bug under the table where it can easily found?  Taking the picture of Mary?  That’s bush league and he’s not bush league.  Of course he just could be a psychopath that doesn’t care either.  There’s not enough evidence yet.  
 
spn1218 1980
 
Since I’ve moved onto Mr. Ketch, the B story was light and tolerable.  I at first wondered what happened to the "eliminate them" order from last week and why Mr. Ketch didn't show up with guns blazing, but then I remembered Mick's whole speech a few episodes ago where he mentioned that they like to do surveillance on their targets and study them before going in for the kill.  So they're treating Sam and Dean like they would a pack of monsters?  Interesting. I wonder what they hope to accomplish by doing that.   Personally, I was more interested if anyone found the secret as to what makes Sam's hair so shiny!  I need to know that secret.  
 
As I said, I don't like Mary's chance of survival after Mr. Ketch found the picture of her and four year old Dean.  Cat's out of the bag I guess.  I’m just not sure if it’s coming at the hands of Mr. Ketch or someone else.  Somehow though, that doesn't bother me so much.  It's hard to fret over an unsympathetic character, no matter how important that person is in the lore.  Bringing her back is proving to be a huge mistake and a risk that doesn't seem to be paying off.  That's no slam on Samantha Smith though who's done a wonderful job.  It's all been in the writing.  But I'm straying so excuse me.  The fact is, the whole thing didn't detract from the main story yet moved things forward. That's a win in my book.  
 
The real highlight though?  The slam dunk that cemented this episode in the plus column for me?  Sam F***ing Winchester storming in with the colt and saving the day.    Fantastic!
 
spn1218 2459
 
"The Colt.  It dusts anything."  
 
spn1218 2481
 
All and all an enjoyable hour and a nice diversion until the supposed real action starts.  I try to avoid comparisons to the old days so not to invite comments that the show isn’t like it was in the early seasons,  but let’s just call this “old school.”   That means that the show remembered it’s roots while keeping it current.  
 
Odds and Ends
 
We had a Busty Asian Beauties sighting!  As I mentioned in my article, Ten Great Running Bits in Supernatural, we haven't had a Busty Asian Beauties sighting since season 10!  They can check that one off the to do list now.  We're satisfied until at least next season. 
 
spn1218 1945
 
I loved when Mr. Ketch addressed that long standing fan curiosity about the telescope.  You can't see anything through it!  Too bad, I was half hoping it worked.  
 
For those keeping track, we can mark this 12.18 as a "Dean got laid" episode.  Man, when was the last time that happened?  Part of me thinks it was earlier this season but honestly, I can't find it.  I don't recall it happening at all last season, unless you want to count Dean and Amara undressing one another with their eyes.  Help me out fandom!  Someone out there has to know it.  For the record, Sam's last roll in the sack was last season's "Baby".  Working on those night moves...
 
Best quote is courtesy of Dean Winchester:  "Next time you hear me say our family is messed up, remind me that we could be psycho goat people." 
 
The Red Headed Monster
 
This week, the monster is playing very concerned citizen.  Consider this more of a public service announcement.  Someone very near and dear to us has been missing.  Have you seen this person?
 
Okay, not so much a person as an angel in a human vessel.  This being is about six foot tall, wears a blue suit, white shirt, dark striped tie and a beige trench coat.  He hasn’t been seen since early March, and he’s supposed to be one of the principal cast members of the show.  His goes by the name of Castiel (appropriately the angel of Thursday) but honestly he responds to a variety of names...
 
Cas
 
12.15 98 Cas wrong 
 
Cass (psst, don't say that name around any fan girls.  You'll be lynched!)
 
12.01 0187 Cas Crawling 
 
Clarence 
 
SPN 1172
 
Feathers
 
04 
 
Halo
 
12.08 0974 Cas Fireball
 
Dumbass
 
spn808 001379 
 
His friends have noticed he’s gone, but their worry has been relegated to “Where’s Castiel?  Oh well, he won’t answer his phone.  Let’s work a case.”  How does that happen??  I mean, he's like their best friend.  They've even called him family!!!  They should be turning over Heaven, Hell and Earth trying to find him!!!  ARGHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!
 
Ahem.  Anyone with a shred of information (and I’m not talking next week’s preview), please share to help ease the monster’s mind.  We clearly don’t like where this is going and we are really, really starting to worry.   Thank you.  
 
Overall grade, a B+.  A little slow at the beginning but for those who stuck it out, it all did lead to something.  I'm so grateful!  Enjoy your week break before we get into the final stretch.