WFBBabyBanner

Follow Us

Text Size

Supernatural Bits & Pieces August 20, 2017

The Supernatural Season 12 Editor's Choice Awards - Part One

Ode To The Trickster

Fan Video of the Week: Supernatural Reflections "The Raid”

A Deep Loss in Our SPN Family: A Tribute to Janet

Supernatural Bits & Pieces August 13, 2017

Check out all our San Diego Comic Con coverage, including on scene reports from Nightsky!  

 

Latest Supernatural News and Spoilers

18 Aug 2017 01:11

Christine Kilmer's latest vlog is up and it's seems rather timely given the latest events.  In

12 Aug 2017 19:40

Spoiler TV posted the titles for the first nine episodes and episode 16

12 Aug 2017 01:19

Recently, I had to shut down the site because of horrible, negative, disrespectful fighting in our c

09 Aug 2017 12:33

We have casting news for season 13.

24 Jul 2017 14:25

Nightsky posted her video of the Kansas performance at Comic Con.

23 Jul 2017 20:11

We may be getting several of these today.

23 Jul 2017 14:56

The cast for Wayward Sisters has been announced.

23 Jul 2017 14:01

The 2017 San Diego Comic Con "Supernatural" panel was one for the ages.  A surprise concert, a

23 Jul 2017 00:16

Today was a very special panel involving one of our prominent #SPNFAMILY members, Genevieve Padaleck

22 Jul 2017 22:37

The photos from Nightsky have been coming in slowly and we are keeping an archive of everything take

22 Jul 2017 21:41

The Tick has had a big presence at Comic Con.

22 Jul 2017 13:54

EW sat down with Jared, Jensen and Misha at Comic Con.

21 Jul 2017 22:30

The Facebook Live chat with Jared, Jensen and Misha is now available.

21 Jul 2017 14:27

Catching up with Supernatural Alumni at Comic Con.

21 Jul 2017 00:09

Today was the big Timeless panel at San Diego Comic Con.  Our master Eric Kripke was there to t

20 Jul 2017 14:59

The cast will appear live tomorrow, July 21, 2017 and will be seen on the Supernatural Facebook page

20 Jul 2017 11:52

The first clip from Jared and Jensen's appearance on Conan O'Brien

20 Jul 2017 06:45

The WB has released the poster for next season.

19 Jul 2017 17:35

The Conan O'Brien show has put out a teaser for tonight's appearance.

16 Jul 2017 14:44

Mark Pellegrino is in the running for a Tean Choice Award

16 Jul 2017 01:45

We have the first spoilers from this year's TV Guide article covering Comic Con.

15 Jul 2017 12:23

Warner Brothers is having a Gift Pack Giveaway.

14 Jul 2017 15:27

We have the images on the Comic Con bags for this year's Comic Con.

12 Jul 2017 16:28

Conan O'Brien is going to Comic Con and he's going to have Jared and Jensen on his show.

12 Jul 2017 13:22

Jensen and others are posting on social media from Vancouver. No Spoilers.

12 Jul 2017 10:20

San Diego Comic Con must be just around the corner!  Each year at this time we get some awesome

08 Jul 2017 19:22

Rogue Events, the company that hosted the Asylum conventions, is going out of business.

29 Jun 2017 14:55

IMDB has posted casting for episode 13.01

29 Jun 2017 14:08

It's official, Supernatural is coming to Comic Con this year.

27 Jun 2017 21:32

As your Winchester Family Business Editor-in-Chief, I have an exciting announcement to share.  

20 Jun 2017 14:00

Reportedly, Wayward Sisters (not Daughters) will be given a backdoor pilot in season 13.

20 Jun 2017 08:33

The Teen Choice Awards announced the first round of their nominations yesterday and Supernatural is

08 Jun 2017 15:20

We have a date for the end of Hellatus!

06 Jun 2017 21:28

Ty Olsson (Benny Lafitte) just won a Leo Award.

03 Jun 2017 14:53

Jared has announced the final phase of the relaunch of his AKF campaign.

01 Jun 2017 23:33

Oh yeah, we had a LOT to discuss!  This is a supersized TV Fanatic Roundtable this time, design

01 Jun 2017 15:30

Jared and Jensen have both spoken about their daughters recently.

01 Jun 2017 10:22

Jared has relaunched part five of his Always Keep Fighting campaign.

31 May 2017 08:44

We have the first information on the season 12 DVD.

26 May 2017 14:18

Jared and Gen Padalecki both spoke in support of David's Law, a Texas law which targets cyber bullyi

26 May 2017 09:14

Jared started part four of his relaunch.

24 May 2017 15:07

Editor's Note: This article chronologically presents the reports and tweets on Mark Sheppard's statu

24 May 2017 09:41

 Now that season 12 is over, our stars are working for charity.

21 May 2017 09:14

Jared has launched part two of his AKF campaign.

20 May 2017 16:46

We have a few spoilers that came out of the Jus In Bello Convention this weekend.

19 May 2017 11:25

Here are the ratings for last night's finale episodes.

WFB Feature Articles

Aug 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Aug 31 2017 | Alice

Just like every year, The WFB doesn't stop with just the fan choice awards!  Your friendly neig

Read more...
Aug 31 2017 | LK

 

"The stars shall fade away, the sun himself Grow dim with age, and nature sink in years, B

Read more...
Aug 31 2017 | WFB Staff

  (Photo by Lady_MickeyD - a truly amazing picture)   On August 9th, we were all sadden

Read more...
Aug 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural around the Web this week.

Read more...
Aug 31 2017 | Alice

It’s been a disheartening few days in more ways than one.  In the past two days, I’ve bee

Read more...
Aug 31 2017 | Mallena

One of my favorite things in the realm of storytelling is a haunted house.  I’ve always been

Read more...
Aug 31 2017 | Elle

Inspiration and Unity: The Power in Family Don’t End With Blood

Love can be hard to verbalize. It

Read more...
Aug 31 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series! For Supernatural 12.14, "The Raid", I once agai

Read more...
Aug 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week!

Read more...
Aug 31 2017 | Nightsky

This was my first year covering San Diego Comic-Con solo. It was only the second time I had ever bee

Read more...
Aug 31 2017 | Mallena

I’ve been going back and forth on which episode to review and it’s been a tough decision. 

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

There's still a lot of exciting Supernatural interviews and videos being posted from San Diego Comic

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Karen

SUPERNATURAL MATCH GAME      

Match Game # 1

Welcome to The Mat

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

We end this series with an interview with the man who has been with Supernatural almost as long as J

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

The final actor is Misha Collins.

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Jensen spoke to different outlets at Comic Con this year.

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

We return to the actors who were interviewed at Comic Con. This time Jared Padalecki.

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Press Room Interviews with Andrew Dabb.

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Nightsky

 Last interview up and it's with the man who holds it all together, Robert Singer.  He giv

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Nightsky

An interview with Jensen is always a pleasure!  The interview started out casually - talk about

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Nightsky

It's Misha's turn!  In our roundtable interview in the San Diego Comic Con press room today, he

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Nightsky

Today was a pretty awesome day!  Here's the WFB roundtable interview with Jared Padalecki. &nbs

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Mallena

This episode introduces us to Anna Milton.  She isn’t a normal girl, like she appears, but is

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Alice

The nominations were collected, the votes have been cast, the results have been tabulated, and the w

Read more...

WFB Motivational Posters - Comic Con

ComicConCosplay.jpg

Nightsky's New Book!

 
So, a funny thing happen on the way to watching my DVR recording of “Supernatural” on Thursday.  Everyone was pixelated, choppy, and talking in really strange voices.  I swear it was possessed.  Granted that actually improved the character of Claire for me, but that’s not the point (I’m kidding!). Bottom line, I couldn’t watch until it was available on CWTV.com the next day, and given my weekend plans I couldn’t watch until Sunday.  
 
What did I think?  Maybe it was my mood after a good weekend, but I didn’t think it was half bad.  Even the hubby, who pretty much thinks all of it is crap these days, thought it was one of the better installments.  No, “Ladies Drink Free” wasn’t a series classic, but as filler goes, it was watchable.  
 
I’m noticing a pattern with these new writers.  I think they were given an objective, take something old and create a new twist on it.  For one, it’s a great continuity study.  Second, fans love that s***.  We love playing connect the dots.  In this case, writer Meredith Glynn decided to tell a werewolf story, something very commonplace in “Supernatural,” going for the mashup of “Sharp Teeth” and “Alex, Annie, Alexis, Ann.” with a little “Heart” thrown in for fun.  It was certainly better than “Sharp Teeth” but lacked the big emotional punch of the other two.  Garth, who we last saw in “Sharp Teeth,” got a nice mention, and if you think about it, this was a continuation of his story.  Instead of living as a werewolf, what if there is a cure?  All that was missing was Garth (please come back someday DJ Qualls!)
 
As for the “Alex, Annie, Alexis, Ann” comparison, this time Alex’s adoptive sister Claire was the subject, and instead of going vampire she went werewolf.  After all, werewolves are the yang to the vampires’ yin.  Or vice versa.  In other words, in every vampire story, there is a werewolf.  This time, they’re sisters!  Sort of.  In looking back to that episode, I realized how much this episode would have benefitted if Jody was in it.  Kim Rhodes really packs an emotional punch in her scenes and her seeing Claire go through this struggle would have delivered the teary moments that we got in Alex’s showcase episode.  But no, we got a one sided phone call and no Jody in sight.  I noticed.    
 
To make the story modern, the lovable Mick from the British Men of Letters got to tag along on this hunt.  After seeing how the British MOL do a hunt, suddenly these guys aren’t so bad.  Seeing Sam and Dean in a regular hotel, with free shampoo and a pool, not to mention a restaurant and a bar, just feels so well deserved after all these years.  But tell me, WHY OH WHY DIDN’T WE GET TO SEE DEAN IN THE POOL SANS SUIT?  Why do you tease me show??? Oh, that’s so cruel. I would have settled for both of them in trunks swimming in the pool.  There are pools in Vancouver, right?  RIGHT??
 
SPN 0393
 
Other than that visual of Sam and Dean in trunks planted in my brain, the story we got was pretty common and touched upon themes that have been done before.  The series long question was again addressed, “Are all monsters bad?”  Are there options when someone is turned into a monster?  Is everything black and white?  These were great questions raised by Dean in his talk with Mick, although I can’t help remembering Sam have this same conversation with Dean back in season two (and other seasons too).  Everything comes full circle I guess.  
 
As we learned from season two’s “Heart,” in the case of a werewolf, there are no options once you’re bitten by a werewolf.   That fact gave us this week’s parallel to that episode.  After Claire was turned, she gave the exact same argument for dying that Madison did.  It was if the same script was used but the names were changed.  This is modern SPN though and such facts can be twisted now, thus giving a new writer the power to make something up. The Men of Letters give a wealth of possibilities in script fudging and Sam had a fancy book to prove it.  Naturally he would find a cure buried in that book and naturally Mick would know how to do it.  A little convenient but I could hardly call foul.  
 
In fairness, if there’s a cure for vampirism, why not werewolves?  So does this mean now that instead of killing monsters they’ll try to start curing them?  Or rehabilitating them and letting them live like Lenore’s pack and Garth’s family?  Could this be the new mission of the American Chapter of the Men of Letters?  It sounded like the British Men of Letters once took that train of thought otherwise why experiment on a cure?  Somewhere down the road, they decided killing them all was better.  I wonder if that was a personal choice or if something drove them in that direction.  Maybe someday we’ll find out.  
 
SPN 0476
 
I think Mick has more power than he lets on.  See how suave he was when jumping in and pretending to be the doctor?  He even grabbed his own perfect Fleetwood Mac alias for the British guy of the team, Dr. Buckingham (ha!).  When he says that he’s writing reports and following orders, is he really?  Could it be he was sent to America with free reign and he’s really calling the shots but playing lackey so that he’s relatable?  Maybe he’s hundreds of years old and he’s always been the one behind the British Men of Letters.  It’s a “Pay no attention to the man behind the curtain,” scenario.  Granted, I’d have to dig pretty hard for clues right now to support that theory and I’m not that motivated.  Let’s just say, the guy is fishy.  He knew exactly what he was doing in killing the newly turned girl werewolf.  Since he saved Dean’s life though, he’s also earned another chance.  Plus, we need more hotels with pools.  
 
Then there’s the continuing saga of Claire Novak.  For the record, her character still has yet to win me over.  She’s hunting alone and lying to Jody.  We knew this was coming a mile away.  Now that it’s here, is her character still getting any kind of justice?  Not really.  She’s still a pretentious brat that thinks she knows everything and Sam and Dean are full of hot air.  She certainly didn’t fool that mother with her alias.  Getting turned into a werewolf may have been a little humbling, enough for her to at least call Jody and come clean, but I doubt that’s going to change the way she acts.  Probably because the writers don’t know what to do with her.  It’s easy to keep her in a box rather than show any leaps in maturity and growth.  I did get great satisfaction in this exchange with Sam and Claire though:
 
Claire: You know what? Screw you. I'm so sick of you guys dive-bombing my life, acting like you care.
Sam: We do care.
Claire: Then stop treating me like a stupid kid.
Sam: Then stop acting like one.
 
That’s exactly what I would have said to the girl!  Way to go Sammy.  You’re my hero. 
 
SPN 0881
 
My biggest criticism isn’t Claire though, and man it should have been.  It still felt like Sam and Dean were supporting characters in all this.  I get that it’s hard to flesh out the main characters after twelve seasons, but aside from Dean and Mick’s conversation and Sam and Claire’s conversation, there was very little substance to their role in this story.  Mick and Claire were the main protagonists driving the heart of this episode.  Sam and Dean got to be there, providing this week’s comic relief more than anything.  They didn’t even get a pool scene!  (still grumbling to myself).  
 
The plot was also very predictable.  It was another “Supernatural” paint by numbers affair, which seems to be a common problem whenever vampires or werewolves are involved.  The pacing was also pretty sluggish too, but that’s been par for the course all season.  Just once before the season ends, can we please turn the action up to 11?  The personal stories really get bland at this point in the season. 
 
Overall grade, a B-.  Honestly Meredith Glynn, if you had given me a pool scene, it would have been an A by default.  I would have forgiven Claire.  Ah well, it is what it is, and we’re ready for the next one.  See you all Thursday, unless my DVR gets possessed again.