WFBBabyBanner

Follow Us

Text Size

Fan Video of the Week: Supernatural Reflections "The Memory Remains”

Memorable Moments: Supernatural 12.18 "The Memory Remains"

Mallena's Supernatural Musings: 10.05 "Fan Fiction"

Supernatural Con First Timer - Vancouver Part 3

Fan Video of the Week: Supernatural Reflections "The British Invasion”

Supernatural Bits & Pieces September 17, 2017

This long until Supernatural Season 13...

Latest Supernatural News and Spoilers

Sep 22 2017

TV Line has a short spoiler for the upcoming season

Sep 21 2017

We have an extended version of the trailer!

Sep 18 2017

Jeffrey Dean Morgan and Hillary Burton showed off her baby bump at last night's Emmy Awards ceremony

Sep 18 2017

The actor, who once played Gordon Walker, won an Emmy last night for Outstanding Lead Actor in a Dra

Sep 17 2017

We have a copy of the EW preview for Supernatural and BTS pictures of episode 6.

Sep 13 2017

We're getting close. The CW released a short promo.

Sep 12 2017

EW just published a big spoiler for season 13. TVLine Spoilers added!

Sep 12 2017

September 13 is Supernatural Day!

Sep 08 2017

TVLine released it's fall preview and had this to say about Supernatural

Sep 06 2017

With the DVD for season 12 hitting the shelves yesterday, several oulets have posted deleted scenes

Sep 04 2017

Misha Collins made the announcement today.

Sep 01 2017

Stories continue to come out on Jensen Ackles fundraiser to help Texas after the devastation of Hurr

Aug 31 2017

The Supernatural Family's work to aid in disaster rescue and recovery efforts has even been noticed

Aug 30 2017

Buddy TV posted a new deleted scene from last season.

Aug 28 2017

Jensen and Danneel Ackles are spearheading an effort to help victims of Hurricane Harvey

Aug 24 2017

We have titles for episodes through 12.

Aug 23 2017

TV Line has some spoilers for this season.

Aug 23 2017

There are a lot of Behing-The-Scenes shots from episodes 3 of Supernatural season 13!

Aug 20 2017

The cast is wishing Misha a Happy Birthday!

Aug 18 2017

Christine Kilmer's latest vlog is up and it's seems rather timely given the latest events.  In

Aug 12 2017

Spoiler TV posted the titles for the first nine episodes and episode 16

Aug 12 2017

Recently, I had to shut down the site because of horrible, negative, disrespectful fighting in our c

Aug 09 2017

We have casting news for season 13.

Jul 24 2017

Nightsky posted her video of the Kansas performance at Comic Con.

Jul 23 2017

We may be getting several of these today.

Jul 23 2017

The cast for Wayward Sisters has been announced.

Jul 23 2017

The 2017 San Diego Comic Con "Supernatural" panel was one for the ages.  A surprise concert, a

Jul 23 2017

Today was a very special panel involving one of our prominent #SPNFAMILY members, Genevieve Padaleck

Jul 22 2017

The photos from Nightsky have been coming in slowly and we are keeping an archive of everything take

Jul 22 2017

The Tick has had a big presence at Comic Con.

Jul 22 2017

EW sat down with Jared, Jensen and Misha at Comic Con.

Jul 21 2017

The Facebook Live chat with Jared, Jensen and Misha is now available.

Jul 21 2017

Catching up with Supernatural Alumni at Comic Con.

Jul 21 2017

Today was the big Timeless panel at San Diego Comic Con.  Our master Eric Kripke was there to t

Jul 20 2017

The cast will appear live tomorrow, July 21, 2017 and will be seen on the Supernatural Facebook page

Jul 20 2017

The first clip from Jared and Jensen's appearance on Conan O'Brien

Jul 20 2017

The WB has released the poster for next season.

Jul 19 2017

The Conan O'Brien show has put out a teaser for tonight's appearance.

Jul 16 2017

Mark Pellegrino is in the running for a Tean Choice Award

Jul 16 2017

We have the first spoilers from this year's TV Guide article covering Comic Con.

Jul 15 2017

Warner Brothers is having a Gift Pack Giveaway.

Jul 14 2017

We have the images on the Comic Con bags for this year's Comic Con.

Jul 12 2017

Conan O'Brien is going to Comic Con and he's going to have Jared and Jensen on his show.

Jul 12 2017

Jensen and others are posting on social media from Vancouver. No Spoilers.

Jul 12 2017

San Diego Comic Con must be just around the corner!  Each year at this time we get some awesome

Jul 08 2017

Rogue Events, the company that hosted the Asylum conventions, is going out of business.

Jun 29 2017

IMDB has posted casting for episode 13.01

WFB Feature Articles

Sep 23 2017 | LK

 

"Whoever fights monsters should see to it that in the process he does not become a monster

Read more...
Sep 22 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for Supernatural episode 12.18, "The Memory Remains".

Read more...
Sep 21 2017 | Mallena

It’s Rob Benedict’s birthday on Sept 21 and it wasn’t easy picking the story to review that fe

Read more...
Sep 20 2017 | LK

 Welcome to Part 3 of my tale of attending my very first Supernatural convention! You'll want t

Read more...
Sep 18 2017 | LK

 

" I write about the power of trying, because I want to be okay with failing. I write about

Read more...
Sep 17 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural around the web this week.

Read more...
Sep 15 2017 | LK

Welcome to part 2 of my tale of attending my first Supernatural convention! If you missed Part 1, it

Read more...
Sep 14 2017 | Mallena

Richard Speight, Jr.’s birthday was on September 4th and in his honor, I’m writing a review of o

Read more...
Sep 13 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #4

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way. It's a qu

Read more...
Sep 12 2017 | LK

Introduction

 

Boy, this will be a long one! That is probably the sentence I will hear

Read more...
Sep 11 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for episode 12.17 "The British Invasion". Once again

Read more...
Sep 10 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week

Read more...
Sep 09 2017 | LK

 

" For there is no friend like a sister in calm or stormy weather; To cheer one on the tediou

Read more...
Sep 08 2017 | Elle

One of the last Supernatural episodes of season 12 that was more formulaic and standard MOTW than bi

Read more...
Sep 07 2017 | Mallena

 

Who loves the idea of time travel? I do!  The possibilities are endless as I contemplat

Read more...
Sep 06 2017 | LK

 

"Don't call the world dirty because you forgot to clean your glasses.” — Joseph Addi

Read more...
Sep 04 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for episode 12.16 "Ladies Drink Free". Once again I h

Read more...
Sep 03 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural and Family in the news this week!

Read more...
Sep 01 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #3

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way! It's a qu

Read more...
Aug 30 2017 | Percysowner

What are Supernatural fans up to? Here's the latest scoop as of August, 2017!

Read more...
Aug 30 2017 | Alice

My choices for part one were revealed, so without further delay, here are the Supernatural Season Tw

Read more...
Aug 28 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for Supernatural! For 12.15, "Somewhere Between Heave

Read more...
Aug 27 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Aug 26 2017 | Nightsky

One of the unique attractions of San Diego Comic-Con is wandering the vendor floor looking at the am

Read more...
Aug 25 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #2

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way! It's a quick a

Read more...
Aug 24 2017 | Mallena

This week, I’ve been musing about family dramas.  There are many great examples of the genre

Read more...
Aug 21 2017 | Alice

Today I was utterly dismayed to hear about the closure of a long time fan site which the Wincheste

Read more...

WFB Motivational Posters

FlyingPigs.jpg

Nightsky's New Book!

 
So, a funny thing happen on the way to watching my DVR recording of “Supernatural” on Thursday.  Everyone was pixelated, choppy, and talking in really strange voices.  I swear it was possessed.  Granted that actually improved the character of Claire for me, but that’s not the point (I’m kidding!). Bottom line, I couldn’t watch until it was available on CWTV.com the next day, and given my weekend plans I couldn’t watch until Sunday.  
 
What did I think?  Maybe it was my mood after a good weekend, but I didn’t think it was half bad.  Even the hubby, who pretty much thinks all of it is crap these days, thought it was one of the better installments.  No, “Ladies Drink Free” wasn’t a series classic, but as filler goes, it was watchable.  
 
I’m noticing a pattern with these new writers.  I think they were given an objective, take something old and create a new twist on it.  For one, it’s a great continuity study.  Second, fans love that s***.  We love playing connect the dots.  In this case, writer Meredith Glynn decided to tell a werewolf story, something very commonplace in “Supernatural,” going for the mashup of “Sharp Teeth” and “Alex, Annie, Alexis, Ann.” with a little “Heart” thrown in for fun.  It was certainly better than “Sharp Teeth” but lacked the big emotional punch of the other two.  Garth, who we last saw in “Sharp Teeth,” got a nice mention, and if you think about it, this was a continuation of his story.  Instead of living as a werewolf, what if there is a cure?  All that was missing was Garth (please come back someday DJ Qualls!)
 
As for the “Alex, Annie, Alexis, Ann” comparison, this time Alex’s adoptive sister Claire was the subject, and instead of going vampire she went werewolf.  After all, werewolves are the yang to the vampires’ yin.  Or vice versa.  In other words, in every vampire story, there is a werewolf.  This time, they’re sisters!  Sort of.  In looking back to that episode, I realized how much this episode would have benefitted if Jody was in it.  Kim Rhodes really packs an emotional punch in her scenes and her seeing Claire go through this struggle would have delivered the teary moments that we got in Alex’s showcase episode.  But no, we got a one sided phone call and no Jody in sight.  I noticed.    
 
To make the story modern, the lovable Mick from the British Men of Letters got to tag along on this hunt.  After seeing how the British MOL do a hunt, suddenly these guys aren’t so bad.  Seeing Sam and Dean in a regular hotel, with free shampoo and a pool, not to mention a restaurant and a bar, just feels so well deserved after all these years.  But tell me, WHY OH WHY DIDN’T WE GET TO SEE DEAN IN THE POOL SANS SUIT?  Why do you tease me show??? Oh, that’s so cruel. I would have settled for both of them in trunks swimming in the pool.  There are pools in Vancouver, right?  RIGHT??
 
SPN 0393
 
Other than that visual of Sam and Dean in trunks planted in my brain, the story we got was pretty common and touched upon themes that have been done before.  The series long question was again addressed, “Are all monsters bad?”  Are there options when someone is turned into a monster?  Is everything black and white?  These were great questions raised by Dean in his talk with Mick, although I can’t help remembering Sam have this same conversation with Dean back in season two (and other seasons too).  Everything comes full circle I guess.  
 
As we learned from season two’s “Heart,” in the case of a werewolf, there are no options once you’re bitten by a werewolf.   That fact gave us this week’s parallel to that episode.  After Claire was turned, she gave the exact same argument for dying that Madison did.  It was if the same script was used but the names were changed.  This is modern SPN though and such facts can be twisted now, thus giving a new writer the power to make something up. The Men of Letters give a wealth of possibilities in script fudging and Sam had a fancy book to prove it.  Naturally he would find a cure buried in that book and naturally Mick would know how to do it.  A little convenient but I could hardly call foul.  
 
In fairness, if there’s a cure for vampirism, why not werewolves?  So does this mean now that instead of killing monsters they’ll try to start curing them?  Or rehabilitating them and letting them live like Lenore’s pack and Garth’s family?  Could this be the new mission of the American Chapter of the Men of Letters?  It sounded like the British Men of Letters once took that train of thought otherwise why experiment on a cure?  Somewhere down the road, they decided killing them all was better.  I wonder if that was a personal choice or if something drove them in that direction.  Maybe someday we’ll find out.  
 
SPN 0476
 
I think Mick has more power than he lets on.  See how suave he was when jumping in and pretending to be the doctor?  He even grabbed his own perfect Fleetwood Mac alias for the British guy of the team, Dr. Buckingham (ha!).  When he says that he’s writing reports and following orders, is he really?  Could it be he was sent to America with free reign and he’s really calling the shots but playing lackey so that he’s relatable?  Maybe he’s hundreds of years old and he’s always been the one behind the British Men of Letters.  It’s a “Pay no attention to the man behind the curtain,” scenario.  Granted, I’d have to dig pretty hard for clues right now to support that theory and I’m not that motivated.  Let’s just say, the guy is fishy.  He knew exactly what he was doing in killing the newly turned girl werewolf.  Since he saved Dean’s life though, he’s also earned another chance.  Plus, we need more hotels with pools.  
 
Then there’s the continuing saga of Claire Novak.  For the record, her character still has yet to win me over.  She’s hunting alone and lying to Jody.  We knew this was coming a mile away.  Now that it’s here, is her character still getting any kind of justice?  Not really.  She’s still a pretentious brat that thinks she knows everything and Sam and Dean are full of hot air.  She certainly didn’t fool that mother with her alias.  Getting turned into a werewolf may have been a little humbling, enough for her to at least call Jody and come clean, but I doubt that’s going to change the way she acts.  Probably because the writers don’t know what to do with her.  It’s easy to keep her in a box rather than show any leaps in maturity and growth.  I did get great satisfaction in this exchange with Sam and Claire though:
 
Claire: You know what? Screw you. I'm so sick of you guys dive-bombing my life, acting like you care.
Sam: We do care.
Claire: Then stop treating me like a stupid kid.
Sam: Then stop acting like one.
 
That’s exactly what I would have said to the girl!  Way to go Sammy.  You’re my hero. 
 
SPN 0881
 
My biggest criticism isn’t Claire though, and man it should have been.  It still felt like Sam and Dean were supporting characters in all this.  I get that it’s hard to flesh out the main characters after twelve seasons, but aside from Dean and Mick’s conversation and Sam and Claire’s conversation, there was very little substance to their role in this story.  Mick and Claire were the main protagonists driving the heart of this episode.  Sam and Dean got to be there, providing this week’s comic relief more than anything.  They didn’t even get a pool scene!  (still grumbling to myself).  
 
The plot was also very predictable.  It was another “Supernatural” paint by numbers affair, which seems to be a common problem whenever vampires or werewolves are involved.  The pacing was also pretty sluggish too, but that’s been par for the course all season.  Just once before the season ends, can we please turn the action up to 11?  The personal stories really get bland at this point in the season. 
 
Overall grade, a B-.  Honestly Meredith Glynn, if you had given me a pool scene, it would have been an A by default.  I would have forgiven Claire.  Ah well, it is what it is, and we’re ready for the next one.  See you all Thursday, unless my DVR gets possessed again.