It’s been said a million times by this point, but nonetheless, the fact that this is season ten still blows my mind. Six years ago when I watched my first live episode, who could have imagined we’d still be doing this all this time later – and enjoying it so thoroughly?

Okay, let’s talk about "Black".

As season premieres go, this was pretty good. It picked up the story from last season (demon-Dean) pretty well and laid out some good pathways to follow. We touched on all our primary characters, with excellent looks at just where they are and what they’ve been up to since we saw them many, many months ago. The writing was tight; filming,  sets, mood setting and acting – as is typical for Supernatural – were  all exceptional, as always.

SamBrother on a Mission
Black 1
We open on Sam torturing a demon chick for information about where Dean has gone and demanding she call Crowley, or someone who can get in touch with Crowley. The demon insists that nobody will respond; that they can’t get in touch with Crowley. This is after she cruelly taunted Sam about becoming a demon (this won’t really click for him until later). Sam is focused to the point of near madness – he is enraged yet controlled and channeling everything into finding Dean. Jared is superb in this scene; Sam is almost maniacal yet eerily focused. Every emotion is conveyed through nuance with almost no dialogue (one of my favourite moments in the episode). Don’t mess with a pissed off Winchester looking for their brother.

Black 2
Months (give or take) later Sam is just as determined, even though he is clearly dejected. He is excited over the possible lead of the murder in the gas station, and when he sees Dean “porn-guy” on the camera – but you almost don’t know whether to be excited for him or sad for him as the realization dawns on him about Dean's black eyes. One thing that is very clear throughout the episode (and yes, this may be repetitive, forgive me) is the sheer single-minded determination that consumes Sam. Never before have we seen Sam quite this directed at one mission and although it’s a case of Dean missing and it is demon-related; it is almost refreshing to have this specific, non-universe-threatened mission as the focus. Calling back to season one we have a missing family member (or one to track down anyways) and it isn’t about a global/universal crisis – it’s familial to start with, and supernatural to finish. After several years (enjoyable, to be sure) of universe-spanning drama, this is a welcome fresh-breathe kicking off the tenth season: refocusing on the boys.

Black 4
Sam’s tracking of Crowley after luckily (or maybe planned by the King himself?) stumbling across the cell phone and realizing that Dean is not dead and possessed but in fact still himself, with a bit more spice stirred in and a little less white-hat, was a great moment. Again it emphasizes Sam’s quiet but all-consuming rage and perhaps now that he has this information – that Dean is still himself (mostly), he has some hope to drive him even more. After all, we know that Winchesters on revenge/suicide missions are the absolute most dangerous.


Black 11
The one scene I have a bit of issue with is Sam and our newcomer on the roadside. I kept waiting for Sam to draw his weapon or to have anticipated that this was a bad guy because everything in his manner: his walk, his talk, his Cheshire cat grin – it all said “please don’t trust me, I’m the bad guy.” Particularly given that he’d approached Sam moments after his car crapped out on the side of a dark road – and he himself commented that it was a quiet place where few people come by. Sam even points out the guy looks like a poster child for army recruitment i.e. flashing neon sign on his head saying “I’M DANGEROUS.” Yeah, Sam was a bit slow here for me but he’s running on little sleep and corn flakes so I guess I can give him a break.


Black 15
Finally,  Sam is tied to a chair and taunted that he’s going to be bait, more or less, for Dean. Sam tries to warn the guy off, saying Dean is a “monster” but Military Guy won’t listen. He just chuckles in that know-it-all way baddies do and comments on knowing Dean way back when. I admit, I’m curious about this storyline. How does he know Dean? He’s not a hunter really - he said “let’s go with that” when Sam said he was, so who the heck is he and what’s his thing for Dean about? I’m hooked.

Dean – Living Free and Hard

Black 7
The Dean we knew is still present and operating – just with far fewer inhibitions these days. And you know what? I kind of like him. Hats off to Jensen for keeping the Dean we love still present while loosening him up just enough. Dean always has that dangerous edge, he’s also always had contained wildness, if you will, that we get glimpses of but never to any full extent. Add a dash of demon and all those points are radically sharpened and shined.
Apparently Crowley wanted to experience the “brothers-on-a-road-trip” life for a bit, and Dean is his new BFF. They have girls together, karaoke together, do the “bitch/jerk” thing after having had sex in the wrong bed (I’m not sure how I feel about that phrase being corrupted to be honest, but it was nice to hear it again. Sigh.). Yes, Crowley and Dean are having a whale of a time on the road. Or so it seems.

Black 8
Dean certainly has fewer control issues that he did before – which is to say if he wants to beat someone to a pulp – he will. Here he does it for a girl he kind of likes and doesn’t think should be treated that way by her ex-boyfriend. He will sing Karaoke, bad or not, to his heart’s content and drink as he pleases too. Dean also tells the girl outright not to get attached because he’s just passing through – but it looks like he was the one who was a bit attached. So the question becomes: is Dean’s new side warring with his old side, or is he trying to become someone new because he thinks that’s what he is now?
Dean left Sam behind, he went with Crowley – willingly for all intents and purposes it would seem – and he insisted Sam let him go. Was that because he doesn’t want his brother to see what he is now or what he’s afraid he’ll become under the Mark? There was a reference that if the Mark isn’t sated by demon kills, then Dean will lose control – that it a flashback worth exploring.

Ultimately, Dean cruelly tells the girl off, whether because he’s actually cruel or to make a sharp break with her after she’s seen through him too much is a hard guess at this point, but I’m inclined to the latter. Dean heads out to meet Crowley (or I assume that’s where he’s heading) when Military Guy calls and threatens Sam in exchange for meeting Dean, whose response is…unexpected:
“There’s no trade. There’s no meet up. There’s no nothing. Except the 100% guarantee somewhere down the road, I will find you and I will kill you….I told him to let me go, so whatever jam he’s in now, that is his problem... He knows me and he knows damn sure that if I am one thing, I am a man of my word."

Black 18
This is my other favourite scene in the episode: Jensen is calm, cool and collected. He delivers this with such smooth, matter-of-fact clarity that it is downright unsettling. In fact, it totally unbalances Military Guy, who we see glance at Sam and then lean against a doorway probably thinking “Huh. That did not go as planned. What the hell do I do with sasquatch now?” Dean comes across as could-care-less, but the expression on his face is icy rage – he is definitely going to get Sam one way or another and make that guy sorry – it is exceptional parallel to Sam’s own calm madness in the episode opening when looking for Dean.
CastielRough and Tumble

Black 6
Poor Cas. This guy never gets an easy storyline these days. When we open on Cas, he’s lying in bed looking pretty ill (and having spent three of my vacation days in a sick bed recently, I can relate heavily) and having a chat with Sam. The writers work in something about Cas and Sam and the broken arm. I’d be curious to know how that took place – honestly, if we get to see some of the missing time in flashbacks, that would be okay. I know some people can take issue with the flashback but if it keeps Demon Dean around throughout the season and gives us some misadventures of Sam and Castiel, I’m intrigued.
Anyways, Misha as always plays the befuddled Cas well. Here he plays a sick, struggling and concerned Castiel just as strongly. Cas and Sam discuss missing Dean before Sam insists he doesn’t need Cas, it’s probably not a lead. Later we have Castiel dragged into another Heavenly drama by Hannah, an incredibly single-minded angel of the belief that all angels must return to Heaven. Period. No exception. Or be executed.

Black 13
Hannah starts out nice enough, especially her concern for Castiel, but as we go further along in the episode, the audience and Castiel begin to see the extent of her one-way thinking that brokers no debate. It’s absolute, despite the fact that all Daniel wants to do is fish and be left alone, he must return. These angels don’t seem to learn much, generally, they are pretty all-or-nothing. Cas is injured saving Hannah from being killed after she starts the fighting in what was on track to being a simple discussion.
Castiel tries to explain that though the human world seems insane, it – and human things like dreams, love, hopes, etc. – can be a good thing. Not all bad comes from chaos. It’s unclear what exactly Castiel’s role is at this point; perhaps teaching the other angels what he’s learned after so long on earth. Maybe he can function as a peacebroker between the Heaven bound-angels and those still on earth. One way or another, Castiel must address the grace he’s losing or die.
While it’s nice to see Cas with his own storyline, it must intersect with the boys shortly. The chaos to produce good things – a metaphor for Dean’s new “loose” behaviour leading to something necessary in the future? Only time will tell.
Crowley – Devil in Charge

Black 10
I couldn’t complete this review without a mention of Crowley – our resident trouble maker and Dean’s new best friend. As he always does, Mark Sheppard plays Crowley with the perfect mix of charm and manipulative slyness – a smirk here, a flourish there and Crowley has you under his thumb. But maybe not quite completely in Dean’s case.
Crowley of course wanted this to happen to Dean, wanted Dean as his right-hand man – maybe as much for the power as for the friendship part of it. Crowley is as slick as he’s ever been in this episode – my favourite moment being when he reveals to Dean that, oh by the way, Moose called, he’ll be here in the morning. It was his last trump card to get Dean to leave the rustic bar where he’d dug in deep. Crowley knows that Dean doesn’t want to see Sam, for whatever reason – but how many times can he use that card? He set it up so Sam could find them easily enough. The question now is how will he control the dynamite with Sam’s kidnapping thrown into the mix. And of course – the ever-asked questioned with Crowley: what is his endgame?
Final Thoughts
This was a good opening episode. It may not have had the flash-bang of previous openings, but sometimes that’s okay. If this is the tone we’re going for this season, it’s dark, it’s got some edge and it’s got a new world of mysteries. We’ve maintained the Supernatural elements in the boys, the demonic edge and extra characters but at the same time there isn’t such a weighty tone that some of the past seasons have had. Season ten looks to be a pretty good mix of fun, ass-kicking and Winchesters – all of which I fully approve of and gleefully anticipate.
 Your thoughts?

Comments  

elle2
# elle2 2014-10-11 18:27
Elle,

Great review! I'm with you 100% regarding this: "It is almost refreshing to have this specific, non-universe-th reatened mission as the focus. Calling back to season one we have a missing family member (or one to track down anyways) and it isn’t about a global/universa l crisis – it’s familial to start with, and supernatural to finish. After several years (enjoyable, to be sure) of universe-spanni ng drama, this is a welcome fresh-breathe kicking off the tenth season: refocusing on the boys."

I know some people find this too quiet of an opening, but to me it's great. The big bang was the end of last season with Dean becoming a demon. Now it's the aftermath -- which by the way, I think in your excitement you extended the time period a bit. :) The opening scene with Sam and the demon does not have a time period, however, based on Dean's comment to Crowley at the bar regarding sating the Mark of Cain, the entire time period from Dean's awakening with black eyes to the meat of this episode is six weeks. We do know that after the opening torture scene four weeks have passed by. So, I'm going with six weeks total to this episode.;)

As for Sam's single-minded focus and the return to the Season 1 journey of "find dad", only now it's find Dean Jared was excellent from start to finish. Like you, I quibble with Sam being so easy to ambush -- as if he wouldn't know what a kill switch looked like either. But, they had to have Cole get him and this was it. Oh, well, I'll go with the lack of sleep and fueled by corn flakes.

It's a great start, except for the angel storyline. I adore Cas and don't want him off the show, but I'm beginning to sense that the storyline is well played out. I could care less about a rogue angel or two fishing and enjoying the sunset. What will Hannah think of him if/when he gets his grace back and yet does not return to heaven. Time will tel lon al lthis, but it's a great start, and yes, a fresh one as well.

Thanks for writing this!
elle
# elle 2014-10-11 18:45
Hi elle2 - thanks for the comments! I agree, quieter though it may have been the opening suited me very well. The angel storyline has some potential, but it depends which direction they play it towards. If it's the same war as before then, well, meh. But Castiel as more of a teacher or being designated the on-earth touch point for those that don't want to return to Heaven, well it has some options. It's a wait and see at this point.

For the time period - when I referred to "many months" I meant the hiatus going by, not the time having passed on the show, just to clarify. I'm not sure how long our boys have been apart - enough for Sam to swing from pissed and focused to sad, pissed and driven. Six or maybe eight weeks makes sense - either way, I'm looking forward to those gaps being filled in with a flashback or two!

Thanks for reading!
cheryl42
# cheryl42 2014-10-11 19:12
Excellent review. I agree with you on Sam's emotional state. He seems to have some backstory that will be filled in later so I am looking forward to that. Dean is a little harder for me to read. After thinking about it for a while I will come up with a scenario and then an hour later decide no that doesn't fit. He is wild, out of control but still, I don't know if caring is the right word, but there is still some part of Dean that was a little sad after he said those cruel words to Ann Marie and he did ask if his brother was still alive. So demon/not demon/part demon it is hard to tell right now. I am hoping that Cas' story picks up because it just seemed out of place in this very intense episode. Crowley already losing control (or seemingly) is going to be an interesting dynamic as the season progresses. And what does feeding the Mark really mean? How does feeding the Mark make Dean not a demon? Cole is a fascinating new character. I thought that Travis did a great job of introducing Cole to us. I bought that Sam didn't know what a kill switch was he isn't the car guy (did you see the car he was driving). I agree though that when Cole was approaching him he did look very suspicious.
I loved the darker tone to this episode and I hope it continues. I did love it and I can't hardly wait to see what happens next.
elle
# elle 2014-10-11 19:41
Hi cheryl42- thank you for your comment, appreciate it!

I too thought Dean was sad after his final exchange with Ann Marie in the hotel room, and the fact that he asked about his brother's life demonstrates something of the old Dean. I think in keeping the Mark sated it keeps Dean enough human that he doesn't become fully engulfed as a killer i.e. seeking out "evil" - he maintains his soul. Crowley told Sam, more or less, that Dean was still alive thus Dean still has his soul. Cain, as we saw last season, was still (at least in part) a man and he still suffered and felt - I think Dean does too. Maybe what the Mark does is push Dean to "punish the wicked" and after so long of not doing it, it simply overtakes him. Maybe he drinks, etc. to block out what he sees in people? This is pure speculation, no spoilers involved, but I have to wonder. Cain was locked away and isolated after all - otherwise that Mark could have driven him mad. Time will tell, I suppose!
Lilah_Kane
# Lilah_Kane 2014-10-12 04:46
I loved all four in this episode. The emotions we saw with Sam. The predicament Castiel was in. Crowley being witty and twisting the dagger on Sam's wound and finally Dean as a demon.

In another view and what has been said in interviews the Ann Marie part and the last part of the episode might have been taken as self eccentric. Ann said no to Dean so his interested stopped there. And asking if Sam is a live and the threat. I think it might have also been: "Nobody else hurts my brother than me" and meant in a bad way. Also it felt as Cole were after Dean that he will just get him first. Cole is threatening him. But Jensen did give little nuances also that Dean might also care. I think it might be meant to that Dean is made to be hard to read. At least for now.

On Crowley's case. I think he will have soon both Winchesters on his ass and usually that is not a good place to be. He bit more than he can chew with DD.

- Lilah
Bevie
# Bevie 2014-10-12 15:00
I'm loving that this has become familial and not the 'end of the world' scenario that the last few years have been. I get so much more involved when the story focuses on the brothers without those other distractions.

I'm also loving (so much) the Sammy I'm seeing now. The way he should have been when Dean went to Purgatory instead of staying with the wishy washy Amelia. Go Sammy! I'm hoping Dean does go after Sam in spite of what he said to Cole. But either way, I love Sam focusing 100% on saving his brother. I'd really like to know what occurred between Sam placing Dean in his bed and the start of this season with both the boys. It's good to know he really loves his big brother after all.

Crowley is such a great villain to love hating from his first appearance to now. Love that he has a crush on Dean and wants to be his "shotgun". He's bitten off a lot more than he will be able to chew, I think. Shepherd is such a good actor. Well, they ALL are!

Don't care at all for Hannah. Wish she'd mind her own business up in heaven and leave Cas the hell alone! Let the angels who want to stay here fish or do whatever harmless thing they want, like bowling, the hell alone! She seems to be the blood thirsty one after all. Wanting to kill those two harmless ones, and last season wanting Cas to kill Dean! Hope Cas doesn't fall for her. I'd rather he had Meg!

And Dean. I love it when he loses it and goes to town on the bad guys. Remember the ghoul 'Adam'? And the demons at Cain's house? I guess he'll be doing more of that while being "Deanmon"!

Anyway, Hooray it's back! I'm loving it and can't wait for the next episode.
Rene4
# Rene4 2014-10-12 15:35
Great review. Thank you for your thoughts on this episode.
Jensen has such great control of his face and voice-when he does things like beat up Ann Marie's ex-boyfriend, his smile is a killer.
Jared is great. It is a pleasure to see his character so focused on saving Dean.
I'm annoyed at Cas -he has been on earth and a human enough to know that humans, just as they are, offer many gifts that angels do not possess. Why doesn't he take more of a stand against Hannah and her strict angel vision? The disagreement between them harkens back to Season 5 when Dean was teaching Cas about freedom and it being worth fighting for. Has he forgotten or does he think his role is to support the rebuilding of heaven and nothing else? He does not want to change angels and yet they are so blind when it comes to humans.
Crowley is another problem-he is consistently the most evil (and enjoyable) bad guy in this series. It is very easy for me to distrust all that he says and does because he is only out for himself and his plans. If Dean doesn't fulfill Crowley's plans then he will get rid of Dean and in a way that helps Crowley out, regardless of how many weeks they spent howling and baying at the moon.
I realized a couple of seasons ago, that with the big bad monsters on this show, they have to personally jeopardize Sam and Dean's character or soul for me to dislike them as the big bad. Metatron did that last season-at the first, he was just a geek, but by the end I hated him (great acting job Curtis Armstrong). But Crowley takes it all-he is many times more devious than Metatron and he will be the big bad to look out for.
Hope I didn't rant too much. Love this show and it hurts to see Sam and Dean so miserable and lost.
amyh
# amyh 2014-10-12 18:27
I'm in the process of moving and finally got to see "Black". I'm loving the more personal, family feel to season 10. I love getting back the real Sam...the Sam who is doing what he would have done in s8 if Carver hadn't played 'what if' without an ounce of thought. Sam is getting things done and i still hope he gets to helps Dean. And i hope Sam saves himself from Cole. And it would be awesome if Sam could talk Cole onto his side. Sam needs a bff...after all family dont end with blood!

Dean...not really seeing a downside to him being a demon. He really feels like Dean with as you said less inhibitions. I do have a tough time wrapping my head around Dean in any form or level of badness howling at the moon with the guy who once had the woman he loved and the child (Lisa and Ben) he once thought of as his own kidnapped and tortured and nearly murdered.

Crowley needs to be ended. I get a lot of people say 'better the devil you know' but the problem is the Devil knows the Winchesters just as well or even better then they know Crowley. Or themselves.

I found myself fast forwarding the Angel storyline. It feels incredibly repetitive. They never learn. They never grow.
E
# E 2014-10-12 20:56
Good point amyh….Dean seems to have forgotten what Crowley did to Lisa and Ben, you'd think he'd be pretty pissed about that and still and want Crowley dead even in his newly demonized state. I too am not seeing much downside to Dean being a demon. He's still all noble beating up the douchebag abusive boyfriend, only killing other demons (big deal, they do that all the time) and basically having a good time and not being plagued by his oceans of guilt over things real and imagined or worrying incessantly over his brother. Why does Sam need to save him again? Maybe they'll make him more threatening in later episodes but I am not counting on it. Season 2 Dean was scarier; post Purgatory Dean was scarier too. This Dean? Meh. Quite frankly I can't see at the moment why they bothered to turn him into a demon…. it's not currently necessary to the plot that he's a demon (this may change as Crowley reveals whatever plans he might have for Dean in full) and he's certainly not acting like any other demon we've ever seen on this show…. so, what was the point again? In First Born Crowley said this about Cain: "I mean he became the deadliest demon to walk the face of the earth. Killed thousands. The best at being the worst. And then he just... Disappeared. Everyone thought he was dead or, at least, hoped he was." So, why isn't Dean the same? Why is Dean still Dean… why is he compassionate? Why noble? Why? Given what we know about demons and what we know about Cain it makes no sense and comes across as a lame even cowardly copout to not really let Dean do much of anything demonic. I guess it will make it easy for everyone to forgive and forget when the time comes, though. LIke they ever gave Sam that kind of consideration.

I also love that the current problem is so personal to the boys as well. This situation with Dean seems far more dire to me than either the Leviathan, Godstiel or all of the Angel nonsense ever did. Its a small problem globally, but a huge problem for the Winchesters so it rings as much more important and intense. And I too am sooooo glad to see smart, clever (the phone taping) intense, unshakable Sam; the Sam we should have seen after season 8, but were given no clear or probable reason for not seeing him (contrived plotting as part of the Dean set up that made zero sense for Sam as a character). I can only hope that after Sam finds/cures Dean (my guess is in episode 4) that Sam has any kind of plot or reason for being in the show beyond him saving Dean. There has been zero spoilers on that front, so who knows if there's anything for him in the works at all. Dean seems to have plenty; after he's cured of being a demon there is still Crowley to contend with, he'll want to help out Cas, he'll still have the Mark and all of the problems that go with it, and then there's Cole and his vendetta. I wonder where Sam will fit into all of these Dean plots?

And completely off topic; I just moved as well…. it's pretty difficult. I am still not settled with boxes everywhere and a ton of home improvement projects to do. I opted to let my Cable go too, so no TV. I'm getting the episodes off the internet a few days after the fact. I hope your move goes well and you have a minimum of fuss. Good luck.!
amyh
# amyh 2014-10-14 19:26
Hi E. Thanks/ We are moving Saturday to Texas....and since we dont have a house yet my sister will be putting us up. (thanks sis!) I'm sure i'll be learning how to watch on my computer.

Is it to wrong to hope Sam and Cole develop a respect and eventual friendship? If Cole survives and he doesn't become Deans lastest bestie. I'm keeping my hope alive
kaj
# kaj 2014-10-13 02:06
I love it that people seems excited for the premier. My mind usually works differently than other people and I tend to have different opinion regarding an episode. That being said I enjoyed 'Black' very much and I was worried that people would find it lacking. I like most of your assessment in this review, especially about Sam. I love Sam so much in this episode. This is the Sam that I want to see during season 8 premier, looking for Dean.

But I see things differently than your assessment of Demon Dean. I don't think Dean shows compassion at all towards Ann Marie. He was just using her as a means to his ends, which was his pleasure. WIth the pesky boyfriend out of the picture he was hoping that that meant he would have more fun with her without her worrying about the boyfriend getting mad at her. "She's having fun with me, now. Go away, boyfriend. Don't disturb us!" Then Crowley started to get really annoying and hindering his fun. So, he'll have his fun with Ann Marie away from Crowley but the girl refused. Demon Dean saw no benefit could be gain from her after that and he also kicked her away. I saw Demon Dean as a manipulative Demon that only out for himself and his own serving. He would appear care for others if only these other people would benefit him. He felt no attachment to anyone, including Crowley despite what Crowley said of him doing Dean a favor. At the last scene we saw Demon Dean driving alone.

From the clip for next Tuesday, I guess Demon Dean has found new toy to play with, namely Sam.
sylvia37
# sylvia37 2014-10-13 13:55
I did enjoy the episode, mostly because I thought Jared did such a fantastic job showing us where Sam is at. It's so nice to see his POV and saying that, I really hope once the boys are back together, it doesn't go away. I thought Jensen did a good job, but I think the jury is still out on Demon Dean. I'm with Kaj in that I was getting, the "Even though I'm not playing with my toys, doesn't mean you're allowed to touch them," vibe. I wasn't feeling any caring coming across. But I think it was just an intro into DD, so hopefully this week we'll get to see more of what's going on with him.

I was also disappointed that Sam didn't see Cole coming from a mile away. It comes across as such a plot device when they make the boys act OOC like that. The minute the car started sputtering, my first thought was ghost, just like every other time it's happened. With all the credible ways they could have had Cole get the jump on Sam, they didn't have to make it so obvious.

Thanks Elle.
anonymousN
# anonymousN 2014-10-13 15:40
Well, I don't know what to make of this episode.Not a good one just Ok.
1)If this is Demon Dean..then yes Sam will be the greater monster this season.If they do not have Dean saving sam from Cole then may be I will reconsider but as of now Sam is better at being the monster.
2)So...Demon Dean a big disappointment.
3) like how sam is now about saving Dean.Sam being in a different head space then when Dean was in purgatory this make sense as it it made then.Hope Sam saves himself from Cole and not because of Dean.I know..I know It is sam we are talking about but a fan can hope.
4) hannah including Cas when a fully powered Angel was killed by the two rogue angels was silly.Now she has included cas but has no value for his input.I wish it was the other angel that was killed at that angel instigated the fight.That scene of Cas being behind the angel was off.
5)Crowley ...will wait to see what he wants.
6) Oh...this is not a surprise ..but this season opener contained someone mocking sam for his previous choices...well so nice of TPTB..or else we would have forgotten about the dog.Even after becoming a Demon who is so aloof Dean sure does find time to whine about Sam.For one second I thought somehow DD had found a cure to be Dean.But yeah somethings even the mark cannot change.
7) If Demon Dean is like this the show looks like cannot commit to this concept of twisted .
elle
# elle 2014-10-13 17:38
Thanks for the comments everyone - glad you're reading/watchin g and discussing!

Addressing the concern of demon Dean being a bit mild thus far, I'm inclined to believe we have only just had a taste of demon Dean. The reference to a much darker, much more out of control Dean who doesn't feed the Mark of Cain has great potential for viciousness. Dean as he is currently can maintain control - though he can be violent and swing to his whims (i.e. beat Ann Marie's boyfriend to a pulp if it suits him) - it's when the Mark goes without being fed that the truly, dark Dean emerges; or at least that's what I think.

Time will tell!