Review 7.22 "There Will Be Blood"

by sweetondean

So what we keep going while he's out there like this?
Do we have any other option?

After the sometimes baffling and very complex episode last week, this week we were served a pretty straightforward, let's just get in there and set up the season finale kind of episode. "There Will Be Blood" laid a lot of ground-work for the big shebang and while on the surface it didn't appear to be particularly action packed, for me it was a satisfying hour of television that seemed to be over only minutes after it begun. We were reintroduced to a couple of well loved villains, got more time with Dick and his creepy henchman Edgar, witnessed further disturbing developments with Bobby's anger management issues and were party to some thoroughly enjoyable brotherly interactions that were topped off by Dean's no junk food freak-out. I'm with you Dean, you don't win friends with salad.

Though as a whole, I found this a mostly enjoyable outing, there were couple of moments that made me scratch my head and I might just get them out of the way up front before I move on. This episode was written by Andrew Dabb and Daniel Loflin who, throughout season 7, have not been able to recapture the lofty heights of previous work like, "Weekend At Bobby's" and "Frontierland". I feel like they've become all sizzle and not enough sausage, putting too much emphasis on the snappy one liners and witty pop culture references and not paying enough attention to the detail, and though I think this was probably their best effort for the season, there were a couple of stinkers in there that made me want to grab them by the scruff of their necks and rub their faces in it. First up, how come Bobby could zap his way into the vampire house to scout it? The boys have been popping that flask in the car so they can slip away,a few feet if you go by the service station scene,to have a natter about Bobby going bad and yet he can zap practically across the street with no effort at all, flask still tucked into Dean's spunky new leather jacket (I'll get to that later). Bookdal and I had a little chat about this on twitter, surmising that maybe he's learning, maybe he's getting stronger, but it's when your viewer is sitting there trying to connect the dots with maybes, you know you've had a fail. Now, if Sam and Dean had looked at each other with WTF faces and we'd found out that indeed Bobby can now zap without the flask, that would have been an awesome and powerful moment, because that would mean there's no more stashing him,but alas,nup. The other thing that kind of bugged me was the little boy and the Alpha. Um, ok we know he's a creepy monster and all but now I'm not entirely sure what else he is and I like him and I don't much care for him having little boys around for nefarious reasons. That simply squicked me out. I know there was little girl twins in Dean's confusing and never explained vamp dream and I know vamps are all about creating new families so they don't live out eternity alone and then something about young pure blood, but wasn't the Stockholm Syndrome chick enough? I think adding in a wee boy went too far up the ick meter and then caused the awkward, wait we're not going without the kid scene followed by the even more awkward motel hallway scene where Dean explained what just happened to Sam even though Sam would've been standing right beside him at the time. Exposition much? It reminded me of Kripke lambasting himself for the exposition in the Pilot at last year's Paley event. Lastly, let me just get this out of my system, I hated, hated to the power of a bazillion, the "See you next season" line. I hated it when Crowley said ",haven't seen you all season" to Cass and I still hate it. Who says that? It's not a natural way to speak and it was forced and awkward. We're smarter than that. That was a great big clunky meta shout-out in the middle of a serious and dark moment and it made me want to bang Dabb and Loflin's heads together. If the Alpha had simply said, "See you next time" that would've been cooler and creepier and we'd have still got it, the Alpha will be back. There are times for meta and that wasn't one of them. It totally took me out of the moment and jarred me back to reality. Ok,I feel better. Moving right along.

Though the Leviathan are the big monster arc for the season, the emotional arc has been all about loss, culminated in the most devastating loss of all,pie. Okay, maybe that's not the most devastating, but surely it was the last straw. For me, it's always the brother's emotional trials and tribulations that I find compelling and though those pesky Leviathan definitely have the Winchester's attention, it's what to do about Bobby that'll be keeping them up at night. This is the big story, what to do about Bobby. Oh Bobby. I can't see any way he can be saved, short of reincarnation and I'm still not sure how I feel about that. We get too many easy outs on this show. I think we may have used all our get out of dead free cards. Bobby can't carry into next season being all narky and evil, because we did that good-friend-gone-bad thing with Cass, so what's the option? I have a couple of theories. I do so hate to share my theories because 9 times out of 10 they're wrong, but as I'm amongst friends,. It goes two ways, either Bobby is somehow destroyed in helping to finish off the Leviathan, preferably in defence of the boys or we have the big cliff-hanger, what ever that may be, and then as a post script, we see Bobby, having done in Dick, understanding his time is up and asking the boys to burn the flask. He smiles at them as he flames out. Cue wracking sobs. That possibly sounds a little too nice for Supernatural though huh? Whatever it is, it has to continue Bobby's heroic arc. He still has to get the heroes send off. He can't be remembered any other way. Yes, at this stage, I can't see him being anything other than a goner, as much as that hurts. He's getting worse and worse, he's now run off wearing a maid to get Dick (sounds like some porno), leaving the boys to grieve for him again and again and again. Poor Dean, just standing there staring into the safe as Sam moved around checking for EMF. Sam's thrown the whole we can make this work thing out the window. I remember thinking at the time, that's overly optimistic, that's going to change. As usual, Sam has ended up going down the logical road, looking at stats and lore and coming to a bad conclusion. Where as Dean is typically trying not to think about it, defending Bobby even though he knows Sam is spot on. Lord have mercy on all our souls, when will the pain stop. Please make it stop. Oh right, it won't, this is Supernatural. I really hate what's happening to Bobby,not hating it in an, I hate the show went there way but in an, I hate Bobby and the boys have to go through this way. It's too sad. Poor Bobby. Poor Sam and Dean. One thing though, he really has to stop appearing to Dean in the bathroom, it's getting kinda pervy,..though if I were a ghost,..never mind.

I'm so in love with the Leviathan plan. I love that they've now attacked junk food and that in poisoning the entire population of the world and making everyone drug-addled morons, they're also going about poisoning every other supernatural creature that has a taste for the long pig. Clever. Dick and his gooey gang are highly enjoyable. I was totally bummed out when Edgar met his end. He was cool. He was a great bad guy. His stand off with the Alpha Vamp was fun to watch. Two ancient monsters going head to head,then,Edgar's head was on the floor. Had to happen I guess, glad Sammy got the kill. But still. I liked Edgar. 

Obviously Dick is on to the boys. He's nabbed Crowley. Ah Crowley, always good to see you. Crowley and Dick will be the battle of the smarm. Once again, Crowley has a lot of power. His blood is the key to everything, the boys want it and obviously, Dick doesn't want them to have it. What would stop Dick from just obliterating Crowley and being done with it? Or does Crowley's blood also have some value to Dick? Is it not just about stopping the boys getting their hands on it but needing it himself? The high-tech Devil's Trap was awesome. If I had higher ceilings, I'd be tempted to get one just like it! Do we believe Crowley doesn't know that Cass is still alive? He was obviously fishing. God love the brothers for not even flinching and protecting Cass. I'm not so sure Dean would have done that a while a go,.there's those baby steps again. I thought his reaction spoke volumes.

About Dean, apart from his sadness over Bobby at the end there and his utter frustration over having to eat his greens, he seemed almost buoyant. Sure he's still drinking, but he always has. I think that's in the blood and will never change. Maybe that big crash and burn isn't going to happen, maybe he's actually dragging himself out of that hole, or more likely, being more successful at burying it all, because of late, he's seemed a little better. I'd say having Sam back and sane, is a very big part of that. I think he can handle just about anything as long as Sam is by his side. I love watching them work together again, poke fun at each other and look to each other, with and for support. And was the implication they had both "enjoyed' John's old Playboy magazine? Ah brothers, Can I also say, I adore it when John gets a mention.

I keep seeing commentary that the Winchesters aren't showing signs of recovery in their relationship and I simply don't get it. Sometimes I feel like I'm watching a different show to everyone else! This place they're at now is the best they've been since Dean went to Hell, in my opinion anyway. They seem like a team again. Like they have a purpose. They're bitching at each other like siblings. I also like that they seem more equal now. Feels right, seeing as we're 7 years along and they're 7 years older. I totally dug the scene where Dean got the idea to steal that poor schleps blood,.as not right as that was. The horror on Sam's face. The smug grin on Dean's face, followed by yet another dick joke. It was really fun,if a little creepy. The guy just sat there looking back and forth, back and forth, slurping on his mega slurpy as the boys talked about Bobby. "This is for hurricane Katrina you said?" "Yes, yes I did."Then as the cop car cruises past honking his horn to the music, I swear Dean starts to seat boogie. Another thing that might be helping Dean's mood is that in some way, he has all his people back. Yes, Bobby is a ghost about to go darkside and Cass is, well, strange and neither relationship is what it was, but somehow maybe just having them around, seeing them, being able to speak with them again, is making Dean feel a little more complete. In fact he's feeling so good, he went and splurged on a new leather jacket and doesn't it fit him nice. This might be sacrilegious, but I like it better than the original one. Yes, yes, the original one was John's and it had lots of sentimental value blah, blah, blah, but Dean is a man now (oh boy howdy is he), so I think it's appropriate that he goes and gets his own jacket (and not just because the other one got pinched). He was even sensible and got one with lots of big pockets, perfect for stashing wooden stakes and the like. I wish we got to see him go shopping for it. I'm not sure why, but I have feeling that would be adorable.

One thing I'm still not digging about the brothers is that they're still getting written as a bit dumb. Now that Bobby is back in the fold, he's feeding them all the answers again and I don't like it. Sure, he's got nothing better to do than think (and scheme) but, really? Sam and Dean, expert, experienced hunters couldn't put the pieces together like Bobby did? Sammy did what he does best and sorted through the web to find out about Sucrocorp, but they couldn't figure out the rest? This is why I've been enjoying them having some alone time, because it makes them rely on their resourcefulness and not outside help and I'm disappointed that once again, the outside help is making them look less than smart. The other thing was, they really fell for Emily's story hook, line and sinker. Surely they'd know by now that a very pretty, slightly creepy girl, locked away in a room for twelve years, who looks surprisingly balanced, is a bit suss. Guys! That's horror movie 101! And another thing, why won't they talk to Bobby? Why won't they sit him down and have an honest conversation with him? Ok maybe he can't sit but you know, tell him they're worried, try and make him see what's happening, try and make him see sense. Locking him in the safe is just going to piss him off, which it did. They're not helping Bobby's bad mood by treating him like a ditchable prom date. For a couple of guys who like to angstily hash out everything, I can't understand why they aren't trying harder to talk him down. Though I guess Dean did in the bathroom. Seriously Bobby, stay out of the bathroom. But Sam and Dean needed to be talking to Bobby. Too late now.

 As I said up the top, Dabb and Loflin write some great one-liners and witty pop culture references and "There Will Be Blood" was no exception. They do funny good. I loved Dean saying Edgar and the Alpha were Pacman and True Blood. I thought vamptonite was brilliant. There were a couple of great Dick jokes, "What makes Dick so hard to beat." The whole Dean not dealing with having to eat healthy food, going into toxic shock because he needs his road food, "I can't live on rabbit food, I'm a warrior," was great fun. Jensen hit every note perfectly and Jared's reactions with Sam were spot on. I love a good Sam eye-roll.

I'd also like to mention the design this week. The vamp mansion was glorious. The set dressing was lush and rich and it was so beautifully lit. I particularly liked the Alpha's red tie and spiky pocket hanky. That just topped everything off for me. Gee it was great to see him, I dig that character and the way Rick Worthy plays him. Creepy but soooooo smooth. The pink room was gorgeous and the art on the walls! Huge odd animal paintings. I totally loved them, if you didn't catch them go back and look and I really liked the buffalo motel room, it had an epic bedspread!

"There Will Be Blood" left us locked and loaded for the season finale. We have the blood of the father of fallen beasts, we have the blood of the fallen Angel, we've been promised the blood of the ruler of fallen humanity, though why do I think that Crowley has something up his perfectly tailored sleeve with his, no mine last, routine,.now all we need is the bone of the righteous mortal. Still can't wait to see who that is and where they get it from,.sure hope Sam and Dean have some part in putting that puzzle piece together. So are we ready? Are we ready for Carry On Wayward Son? I'm not, but then again I am. I want to see how this story finishes, if it indeed does. I want to know what's going to happen with Bobby, what's going to happen with Cass, that Kevin will get out alive, if the Leviathan all drop dead if Dick does, what on earth the promised (or rather threatened) cliff-hanger is and that Sam and Dean come out the other side knowing they have each other. That's the most important part for me. I can't believe the season is just about to finish. Boo.

Well,what did you think of the episode? Do you have any Bobby theories?

Thanks for reading. I'll see you next week for the season 7 finale! *Meep*

Until then, please enjoy this cap of Dean winking.



 

Comments  

buffsgirl
# buffsgirl 2012-05-12 23:19
Amy - My favorite thing about Friday is Supernatural. My favorite thing about Saturday is your review! Another great one and your line about "Though the Leviathan are the big monster arc for the season, the emotional arc has been all about loss, culminated in the most devastating loss of all…pie." SO FRICKIN FUNNY!!!! :D
Trish
# Trish 2012-05-12 23:42
I always fall back on my impression of how long an ep seemed to take as well, and I was the opposite of you. 7.21 whizzed by in seconds, while this week, although I enjoyed it, had me checking how much time was left about four of five times. This is a mixture of comments I thought of while reading your review. Which was great, as always! Yes, I also love the brothers as they are now, 100% in it together. Everyone I know picked up on Bobby zapping into the Vamp house, it’s a wonder no one on the cast or crew picked up on it. Have to admit though, the young boy didn’t bother me at all. Vamps are evil monsters, and they want the purest blood they can get, that’s the way I saw it. I was confused about the boys exposition later, I thought I must have missed something I should have picked up on, like he was somehow the boy from S6 with the Moses staff. I laughed at the meta comment though, and seeing how the ep didn’t fully grab me anyway, it didn’t pull me out of anything. I REALLY wanna see Dean eating a plate full of healthy food, and Sam’s huge smile while he does! I also have this fantasy of the boys having to go to vegan hippy communes for help, as they’ll be the only ones not eating processed food, haha. I think Sam deserves a new jacket next season, his jacket looked very faded next to now spiffy Dean. With Emily, I thought she was going to be another easy out (for the righteous bone) by the writers, I’m v.glad that wasn’t it. Great review, and I LOVED your choice of pics for it!
Shelley
# Shelley 2012-05-12 23:56
Yay, Amy! One of my favourite things about the weekend is your review, second only to the episode itself :)
I liked this ep a lot, but it isn't up there with my faves for the season. I love love loved seeing Rick again - he plays the Alpha so freaking creepy, smooth and suave, I love it! I cracked up laughing at Pacman, True Blood, and Vamptonite, that was brilliant. Also adored Dean's freak out over having to eat actual food. And that jacket! It does fit him nice. There was a sufficient amount of Dick jokes to keep my mind in the gutter, which is always good fun. And I love Dick Roman himself, he's so smarmy! And it's always good to see Crowley.
Stuff I didn't really love - the Bobby zapping into the house from the car, like you and everyone else has mentioned. I've also been wishing the boys would just talk TO Bobby, instead of just about him. I was annoyed that Dean and Sam weren't at all suspicious of Emily, they're smarter than that. I like the 'see you next season' line initially, because of what it implied, but after I thought about it for a while, I don't feel like it worked. Meta is all well and good, but it didn't fit in this context.
I'm so worried about what's going to happen with Bobby! I feel really anxious for next weekend! For some reason it always slips my mind that we get to hear Carry On Wayward Son at the beginning of the finale, even when I'm doing rewatches. It tends to catch me off guard and then I just melt into a puddle before the ep has even begun.
And for the love of God, I CAN'T WAIT TO SEE BABY AGAIN!!!
LisaM
# LisaM 2012-05-13 00:43
Yeah after that episode with the two brothers, one of whom was a vamp. Do not trust the children, Dean!
LisaM
# LisaM 2012-05-13 00:42
EW says there will be a loss of a beloved character so is that Bobby? Has Jim Beaver said anything? LOL like he did when Bobby returned, right, nevermind. Previews show them using Baby to break in somewhere, almost hitting a guard. A single guard? That seems weird. And I would think Crowley would side with the humans. After all, he knows where he stands with them. He would gain nothing working with a thing who finds every other thing out there inferior. My 64 dollar question is : who is the righteous person who must contribute bone for the ritual?
Ginger
# Ginger 2012-05-13 10:39
I am really curious about the righteous man. My money is on that it will NOT be Dean, but I have no idea who else it could be. Absolutely nothing alluded to that question in this episode. Darn!
hades
# hades 2012-05-13 12:10
Its not a righteous man this time, its a righteous woman a nun I believe.

There are plenty of righteous people in the world.

I'm not sure Dean can be a righteous man after he tortured souls in hell.
Ginger
# Ginger 2012-05-13 14:44
So they are going to use some random nun? Well, that is....random. Maybe it is the young nun from Lucifer Rising? Oh, well, my money had been on St. Theresa, so that was pretty close.
PENNY JAIME
# PENNY JAIME 2012-05-13 02:05
Not just Baby people, but reved up Baby! WOW! that new engine. I for one, hope the sound we hear is the actual car from now on.

Oh, the jacket. Jensen in soft leather, uuummm.....Sorr y, lost me for a moment. Noticed it in the promo shots. Much better in person. Glad Dean is back in leather. Hope it stays.

Don't care much for the dumb blonde act on the boys part either; but hey, I don't get paid to write the show.

Promo shot makes the bone look like a femer bone. Old also. Guess that will be part of the fun next week! gonna be one heck of a finale!
Vanda
# Vanda 2012-05-13 02:25
I'm glad you brought up that bit about Bobby being able scope that house. I'm a bit confused about all the flash biz. If news of season out hadn't been released I think the line by Alpha Vamp about "next season" would have been an epic way to let the fans know the news...

I think Bobby is gonn get into a bit of trouble with the boys pretty soon, the way's going. Dick roman has to be the cooles of villains ever! I love his play on words during that interview scene, & he even knows how to work the camera!

Love the way you needed your review with the wing from Dean!

Bring on the season finale!!
mybelle
# mybelle 2012-05-13 02:41
I agree with 99% of what you say! Only I really liked the "see you next season" line. I thought it added some levity to the situation. :)

I also loved the brothers this episode, and sometimes I too feel like I'm watching a different show than a lot of others. I've enjoyed myself a lot this season, and while there are things I wished had been better followed through with, we are stuck with what was given so I'm choosing to enjoy what I have! Something I was unable to do with season 6 because the first part was so, so hard for me to enjoy. But I digress...

I don't know what to think about Bobby. I really don't. All I know is I don't want him to stay a ghost. And I don't want him gone. BUT - another "revival"? I don't know. I just don't know! Ah!!!!

The Leviathan, and Dick Roman, are amazing in their arrogance and their plan is pretty hilarious and disturbing! Especially as it seems 7 billion people on the earth is not enough to share. lol! As the big bad they have worked for me more than not; and I can't help but LOVE Dick. Yeah. I cannot imagine any other actor in that role and for that reason I am so excited to meet James Patrick Stuart at a convention. lol.

We never saw what happened to Edgar...though he was beheaded if Alpha Vamp didn't get the head pulled away in time...just sayin'. *shrug*

:)

Great review. It was indeed all setup for next week, which I won't be home to watch! AH! What will I do! I really agree with you about this pair of writers - they seem to oscillate between brilliance (aforementioned s6 eps) and the stuff we got this season with Girl Next Door (almost a good episode) and the *shudder* Wedding episode (I don't think I can watch that one again...ever). The pop culture stuff worked this week. Mostly. And Dean's food freakouts; going back to those brotherly moments! I enjoyed them.

Okay, now I just keep repeating what you wrote (in a much more nonsensical way! hehehe). I'll sign off.

On last thing...no one yet has mentioned Dean's line as he and Sam were walking, just before "stealing" the blood from the guy on the bench...Dean says "...keep calm and carry on". That's only been the biggest meme going lately, and also now an infinite number of various tshirts. I thought that one pretty great. :D
cd28
# cd28 2012-05-13 08:12
On Bobby and his powers, while I think there's been inconsistency on what Bobby can and can't do since they started this storyline, I also think there's a pattern emerging, and that's that Bobby becomes more powerful when he's on his revenge quest. At the vamp's house, he was fired up about getting a weapon to use against Dick. At the gas station, he was just there with Sam and Dean, so he was in a more mellow place. If there had been a Leviathan standing at the far end of the parking lot, I have no doubt that he could have powered up, but there wasn't a need to follow Sam and Dean, who were just taking a walk.
KELLY
# KELLY 2012-05-13 08:45
That totally makes sense. I didn't think about that.
Ginger
# Ginger 2012-05-13 09:43
I did like this episode, but I think it would have served much better as the mid-term finale and action built from there. So, Levi want to cure cancer to maximize their food source. Okay. But if the additive in already being distributed, should there be a whole lot more people all over the country (world?) walking around zombied? I'd think more than one gas station.

Particularly liked the one-liners, such as the Pac Man and True Blood. What I don't like, and I again took note of it in this episode, is the political commentary -- fat Americans loving their mass-produced junk food, and other such references to the political climate in this country (the whole Dick Roman arc). I would much prefer that the show concentrate on horror/drama 101 and leave politics out of it....or how about paying attention to plot, pacing, and canon? That would be novel.

Dean's not the only one saying, "I look forward to it," when Alpha vamp said, "See you next season." Me, too. Me, too. I was jumping for joy. Love Rick Worthy's role and work in the show, so that little piece of meta made me very happy.

I am disappointed that the writers didn't use the new leather coat and the Impala to develop Dean's character a little this season. Using those two 'Dean things' to show Dean getting his game back on and heading into the finale for, hopefully, some mass slaughtering, would have been a real winner for me. Instead, we got no back story; just Dean showing up all pretty in a new coat. I think it could have been put to much better use.

I think the Bobby/Dean bathroom scene adequately conveyed the brothers worry for Bobby and that Bobby was well aware of it.

I also think that the brothers were dumbed down when with Bobby (as they always are these days) and where the girl was concerned. What, our best hunters on the planet don't test her to see if she is a monster or a Levi? Seriously? In other ways, however, they were pretty smart -- Dean hiding the blood in his boot, using the IV needle to lock pick, Dean telling the guy to stick out his arm (loved Sam's bitch face, and Sam's plan about talking to the vamp, instead of Dean's plan to charge in and try to get the blood, which put the characters back into the original characters, I thought, and appreciated).

Bobby is toast. Although there was no reason for him to possess the cleaning lady (since he knew the safe combination and was just shown as quite capable of working the safe lock before she came in), the scene showed that Bobby has crossed the line into vengeful, evil ghost. Possession by a supernatural being is always, always evil in the SPN-verse. I don't see any coming back from that now.

Ha! Ha! "Be calm and carry on" -- nod to the British fans.

So, the good, the bad, and the ugly. The good is that the episode (if lots is overlooked and the episode judged on the basis of "was I entertained for an hour?") wasn't too bad. The bad is the political crap in a heated election year and yet canon, continuity, plotting, pacing, and lead character development are ignored, and the ugly is the whole damned season has been a mess.
Nitewoman7
# Nitewoman7 2012-05-15 13:01
Quote:

I am disappointed that the writers didn't use the new leather coat and the Impala to develop Dean's character a little this season. Using those two 'Dean things' to show Dean getting his game back on and heading into the finale for, hopefully, some mass slaughtering, would have been a real winner for me. Instead, we got no back story; just Dean showing up all pretty in a new coat. I think it could have been put to much better use.
How could i have forgotten Dean's jacket. Dean in Leather (:D now that's an image fantasty, oh sorry coming back to earth.

The Impala and Dean's leather jacket you are so right missed opportunity to show Dean is on the road to recovery.
Sasha
# Sasha 2012-05-13 10:06
I thought I was the only one who hated "See you next season" line. It was awful and clunky and pulled me out of the scene completely. The same with Dean's "Crowley isn't the problem this year" couple episodes back. Now Crowley might still turn out to be the problem this year, or maybe the next, if I'm really lucky. That's besides the point. Nobody actually speaks like that. It's not funny, not clever, it's just bad writing.

Speaking of Crowley, he should be on the boys side, as much as Crowley can ever be on anybody's side. I think Dick will come to regret so rudely refusing that basket of muffins at the beginning of the season. Crowley won't forget the disgust and contempt Dick showed for him. Or he wouldn't, if the character was written consistently. As it stands at the moment, nothing would actually surprise me.

I have to admit, but I'm not particularly excited about the finale, which is a shame. This episode felt extremely flat, apart from Bobby possessing the maid part, and in my opinion, completely failed to generate any sort of sense of urgency leading up to the finale. Now I really hope to be pleasantly surprised but the writing has been so hit and miss this season that I'm not getting my hopes up too high. Oh well, at least baby is finally back. Can't wait to see Dean's face when he gets to drive her again.
Sylvie
# Sylvie 2012-05-13 10:21
Thanks Amy, I always enjoy your reviews with my Sunday coffee.

I'm of the same mind as alot of people that had a WTF moment when Bobby just zapped into the vamp house. It was, wait a minute, he couldn't follow Sam & Dean into the QuikieMart, but all of a sudden he can zap somewhere where the flask is not? Major head scratching on that one. And yes, I think Bobby is a goner. He's gone too far now to be brought back sane, well as sane as a ghost can be anyway.

I love that the brothers are on the same page once again. The show had some pretty good zingers for Dean, and some great eye-rolls for Sam. So cute when they were talking about the Playboy from their fathers duffle bag, ahhh, boys being boys. And yes, I love a shout out to John. I recently read an article with Jeffrey Dean Morgan and he said he would gladly come back to SPN if they asked him. Wouldn't that be a hoot?

Overall, I really enjoyed this episode and am looking forward to the season finale to see how this all turns out.

Closing thought. That new jacket looks just yummy on Dean. So much better on him that his dads ever was.
LEAH D
# LEAH D 2012-05-13 12:14
I read all the reviews on this site and enjoy each one but yours are my absolute favorite. You always find the positives in even the imperfect episodes. This was an OK episode for me. Good set-up for the finale. I was somewhat bugged by many of the same things however, for instance the rules for ghost Bobby keep changing. He can zap in and out of houses sometimes but can't move away from the flask other times. I do think a good resolution for Bobby would be, after he finds a way to help the boys, to ask Sam and Dean to burn the flask himself. It would not be as devastating for them that way and Bobby could go out as a hero on his own terms!

Also, not a prude, but the dick jokes have worn out their welcome.

Looking forward to S8. Hoping for more consistancy in all things. Hoping our brothers can finally be more what they were in the past and find some peace with "the life".
Bevie
# Bevie 2012-05-13 13:54
You are also my favourite reviewer on this site, and (again) one of my favourite 2 reviewers anywhere!

Even so, we can't agree 100% all the time, can we? ;-)

I loved the 'see you next season' line, and it didn't take me out of anything, but I can see how it would effect others the opposite way.

And no jacket can replace Dean's dad's to me, as it was so very very Deanlike, like the amulet, which I am still hoping to return somehow. So very badass! :P But the new one is better than nothing and he needs a leather one, and i would have loved a scene at a Goodwill shop where he finds it. Always wanted a scene where they go shopping for clothes and having a tough time fitting the Moose. :D

And the other thing I want, is Bobby back to life somehow. Don't care how. Cheesey or brilliant! Just get me Bobby back in human form please.

Outside of those things, i agree completely with your review, especially with how the brothers relationship has improved the most since Dean returned from Hell. I'm loving the way they are with each other right now, like the first 3 years of the show. Pleeeeaaaasssee !! Don't put them at odds with each other again!!

I also don't agree with a lot of posters who think Dick isn't a scary monster. Maybe it is because I spent 50 years in corporate cubicles that I find him entirely creepy and scary indeed. :o He's the CEO from a cold cold corporation and gives me chills. I think the actor is brilliant!

Here's hoping the boys can defeat the villains in the finale and be able to accomplish something to get their spirits up after all the pain and defeats this season. But then, i heard it will be a cliffhanger, so will have to wait till next September. OH THE PAIN OF THE HELLATUS!!! :cry:

Peace. :roll:
Amy
# Amy 2012-05-13 15:57
Dean's new jacket while looks yummy on him makes him look like he belongs far more in a models photoshoot then hunting demons or leviathons.

Bobby. I think Sam has a far easier time seeing the plain and simple of the matter. Bobby has never appeared to him except the one time when he gained enough juice to appear. So for Sam there isn't the emotional connection like there is Dean...whom Bobby appears to adn talks to.

also Bobby getting a heros send off...just no. Bobby got his heros send off. he crapped on it and came back for revenge. I think fans want Bobby to have come back to help the boys but simply put Bobby wanted revenge. he's turned himself into a monster that will have to be hunted. he should get a chance to turn away from that path...but a hero's send off as a ghost? Just no.

Id like to see Sam get more (or any) personal beats just as dean is getting that shows his emotional journey. I geuss I want SOMEONE to tell Sam he deserves to be angry at what Cas did to HIM. he seems rather silly that Dean is angry at Cas when Sam is the one who was almost killed. And Sam never had one moment where he was angry or felt hurt that someone who claimed to be his friend could do that to him.

I'd love it if Dean would ask Sam why he isn't angry; how he can forgive. I'd like to see Sam's response...and I beleive that what Sam would say would be the thing that
helps Dean move foreward. Sam deserves to get the opportunity to be the one to help Dean...he never gets to help Dean.

Bye Edgar you will be sorely missed
sweetondean
# sweetondean 2012-05-13 17:01
I don't believe Bobby stayed for revenge, that is who he has become because that is the nature of being a spirit. He said it in Death's Door, they are his boys, he doesn't want to leave them, he wants to stay and help them win this fight. The revenge came post his decision. He has fought the fight all his life. He is a hero and always deserves to be remembered as one, regardless of a last bad choice.

As for Sam, he always helps Dean, always helps Dean to see reason, to slow down, to not charge forward, to make better choices, to be more understanding just by talking to him, just by being there and being his brother. No one understands Dean like Sam. Sam helps Dean every day just be being Sam.
Sharon
# Sharon 2012-05-13 16:41
Sam cant get upset or angry at the cat crossing the street so Castiel was always safe.
I cant deny I find the Ghost Bobby sl abit silly however they have gone down that route so for good or bad the writers will have to see it through and I see tears and angst looming on the horizon.
LEAH D
# LEAH D 2012-05-13 17:34
I respect your opinion Amy but I do not think Bobby has EVER done anything but try and help his boys in life or death. He was cantankerous in life so he has been since death. He may or may not turn evil but at this point he hasn't crossed the line completely. He is angry at Dick but that isn't out of character. He still wants to help but if he feels he is going to lose it completely I think he will ask for the burning flask solution.
LEAH D
# LEAH D 2012-05-13 21:13
Just wanted to add one more thought about Bobby. Possessing the maid might be viewed as evil but I am thinking(ok hoping) that his endgame is about helping with the fight and all will turn out fine in regards to the maid. I guess we will all find out fri.
sweetondean
# sweetondean 2012-05-13 22:04
I'm hoping and guessing the same, a ways to a means only.
TozaBoma
# TozaBoma 2012-05-13 22:37
Did you see the Michael vs the dragon painting on the wall behind Sam and Dean, when they were talking to the Alpha Vamp? Hmm... Nicked that from Zach, did he? LOL



Dick (love love love that actor and how he's handling it. Pity he'll have to exit the series at some point!) grabbing Crowley? I think he's about to let Crowley 'get away' with something, so that Crowley goes straight to the Winchesters and helps them - because this, in some way, keeps Dick out in front of them all. I just don't know what it is. Telling him to give the boys fake blood maybe, to draw them to him in a deathmatch he knows they can't win? He got Kevin to translate the tablet, so now he knows what they'll be making. Or give them the real blood, because he's read more into the translation of the tablet than the boys could; he knows something they don't. But I get the feeling Kevin didn't give EVERYTHING to Dick when he said he did. Hmm....

We've had enough miracles lately - it's like the writing team daring each other to 'write your way out of THAT!' First Sam is magically better, then Bobby is not all the way dead after all, and even though Cas is still marvelling over the invention of pants (and spewing prophetic lines?), he's not dead. The Meg + Cas arc is kind of nice, and it's a testament to the series how long Meg has survived!

There was a moment where I went: Supernatural has finally reached a Farscape-level of adultness - in that the evil bad guys have powerful enemies who should be allies, and the good guys have powerful allies who used to be enemies. This season has been so much better than six. And you're absolutely right; Team Winchester is back on track and the boys' relationship feels like a season one reboot, in my head. I don't really see what Dean has to be all broken up about - it's all pressure not to let Leviathan eat the world, and upset over Cas and Bobby, but when was his life ever different? Same shit, different day, right? He got over it. AND I'M SO GLAD HE DID. You can only take emo for so long before I want to slap those two.

Nice jacket. Very nice. What are the odds the Metallicar will be back next week?
sweetondean
# sweetondean 2012-05-13 23:33
TOZA!!!!! :lol: :lol: :lol: Long time!

I think we will defintely be seeing the Metallicar next week!

And yes, that painting was an interesting choice. According to Guy Bee, they simply needed a large piece to fill the wall space and they had it in the art department. But he couldn't say if it had another reason for being there (or wouldn't). Not sure how the Alpha got his hands on it!

Glad you're enjoying season 7 :D
LisaM
# LisaM 2012-05-14 01:05
I find Dick a delightful bad guy. He is what people fear most, someone who promises good things while plotting your death. Like the anti Christ has sometimes been portrayed. And that smile. I wonder if he will carry over into next season or if it will end with the finale.
Nitewoman7
# Nitewoman7 2012-05-15 12:22
7x22 THERE WILL BE BLOOD

The last few episodes of the season always fly by for me. I’m engrossed look at my watch and it’s 40 minutes in yell what already???

Lots of good stuff in this episode. 1. Dean’s meltdown of no pie and burgers and his disgust of eating rabbit food. I’m with you there Dean. I’m worried about Bobby too especially after he possessed the maid. BOBBY YOU KNOW BETTER! But yes the boys should have talked this out with him long before now. I don’t blame Dean and Sam I BLAME THE WRITERS! Andrew and Daniel I really don’t like most of your episodes.

I don’t care how they (writers) do it but make Bobby corporeal, I can’t go through the angst of all involved including me of saying goodbye to Bobby. Killing Bobby was the worst mistake ever! The parts that bothered you I agree with, Bobby zapping in and out of places, the boy with the Alpha. The “see you next season” I chuckled, didn’t bother me but I can see where you are coming from.

Leviathan plan is clever and Dick is sooo smarmy and Edgar is a great bad guy, tho not sorry to see his head on the floor. Way to go Sammy. Crowley, what can I say I love him period. Love this hello boys. If anyone saw any videos of Jensen at JIB con he did an impersonation with Sebastian on stage of the difference of how Balti and Crowley say “hello boys” it’s hilarious.

Like you I see recovery in the boys relationship. Their banter is back for the most part.. Agree quit writing Dean and Sam as dumb. I’d like to see Dean and Sam figure out the clues without help some the time from Bobby, Castiel etc. one reason why I basically only read reviews on this site is I hate the other sites that do nothing but bitch and complaint, Dean has too much scene time, Sam has too much or not enough blah blah blah. If they hate everything so much why are they still watching the show????

Set design and lighting AWESOME. Like you part of me wants to hear “Carry On My Wayward Son” love that song it is soooo Supernatural’ s theme song, but at the same time hate to see the season end. Hellatus is yucky but WE HAVE SEASON 8 YIPEE

Thanks for all your great reviews looking forward to your last review for the season. :-)