Okay, when an episode leaves you an utter speechless mess, it works! Thanks to an early critics preview courtesy of Warner Brothers, I just got to see this week's upcoming episode "The Song Remains The Same." It's definitely epic. It pretty much blew apart my afternoon! After a few weeks of "standalones" this one is going to get the fans buzzing again. 
As I've done with previews in the past, I'll just list at random some "teasers." I'm not going to give away the big spoilers, as there's a disclosure thing there plus its common sense. I want you to be blown away like I was.   

BE WARNED!!!  Spoilery info ahead (no major reveals)!!! Read at your own risk!!!

ETA:  I would prefer this not be reposted word from word, but if you're gonna do that, at least credit the correct site!  I've already seen other sites being wrongly given credit for this.  Thanks much!!

*******************************************************************

-          Amy Gumenick and Matt Cohen are back as the young Mary and John Winchester. They are even better in this one than "In The Beginning." John gets far more screen time and more prominent a role. They're both really good.
-          If you think Dean's fishing dream was amusing, you should see what it is this time. Best ever.
-          Anna reveals what happened to her to Dean. He's surprised to hear all of it.
-          Time travel is Anna's plan B. You should see what plan A is and how that plays out.
-          The year is 1978 and Sam finds the time period amusing, especially  the mustaches.
-          It's a muscle car fiesta in this episode! No driving around in lame pintos for Dean and Sam.
-          Sam is right in the middle of the action this time with Dean. He definitely gets emotional over the whole thing. Just wait until you see his reaction when meeting young John and Mary.
-          Mary still fights like a badass.
-          Sam finally gets to do something that only Dean and Castiel have done before. It's awesome!
-          There's a strange family moment with all four of them riding in the Impala, especially with Sam and Dean in the backseat.
-          John steps up in a big way, showing signs of the older him. 
-          John and Sam have a "moment" as do Dean, Sam and Mary. These are the Kleenex portions of the episode. Be prepared!
-          The rest, it's awesome. It's also too major for me to say much more, but it involves Dean in a big way.  Here's one little spoiler, there is a major character death. 

Okay, speculate away.  Thursday seems a little farther away now, doesn't it??? 
 

Comments  

Sablegreen
# Sablegreen 2010-02-01 15:49
I got the spoiler! Process of elimination... to bad. Wish they would stop killing of characters.

With Anna's return I suspected Dean would not be happy with Cas. And hope Dean, Sam and Mary's moment is happy tears not bad ones...

Lot sounds like fun...muscle cars...Sam and Dean together....Mar y fighting and John by her side..all four as a family in the impala, that screen cap it going to be a winner.

Rest...oh my!
Megan
# Megan 2010-02-01 16:09
Sammy angst!!! Bah! I can't even wait!

Is it wrong of me to hope that the character death is Anna? Seriously, I'm crossing my fingers and wishing upon a star.
annielicious14
# annielicious14 2010-02-01 16:10
yes!
Amanda P.
# Amanda P. 2010-02-01 16:17
There’s a strange family moment with all four of them riding in the Impala, especially with Sam and Dean in the backseat.

Aww I'm getting all giddy already. I can't wait!
Ashley
# Ashley 2010-02-01 16:19
:o You are BEYOND awesome for this! Major character death as in Anna hopefully? ;P I didn't mind her until now. No one tries to kill Sammy. ;-)
veeeeeeeev
# veeeeeeeev 2010-02-01 16:22
why do I have the horrible feeling Cas is the one dying?
caritas
# caritas 2010-02-01 16:25
is there much of Castiel in this episode i need more Cas getting desperate I hope more than his usual couple moments
elle
# elle 2010-02-01 16:36
What a ringing endoresement! I am so pumped for this episode now - can't wait!
Bevie
# Bevie 2010-02-01 17:12
Wow! That makes the wait unbearable!

Got my tissues ready and I really really want them to stop killing off characters, even if it is Anna. I liked her as she was kind to Dean like not many are.
anene
# anene 2010-02-01 18:31
I don't know if you can call trying to kill your family kind Bevie but i for one I'm all for Anna kicking the bucket and wrapping up that storyline. And i doubt Dean will see her as kind anymore once she threatens his family. This is Dean we are talking about. The Dean who didn't care about altering the future if only to save his family.

I am very much looking forward to Sam, Dean, John and Mary being in the same place at the same time since the pilot with Sam getting his moment. I don't care much for how the boys react to Anna's story. I do want to know what Castiel will be doing in this episode besides bleeding his guts. I
debs houston
# debs houston 2010-02-01 19:47
oh i hope its anna that dies.she's crap anyway lol
imaluvjerry
# imaluvjerry 2010-02-01 19:50
Major character's death? Anna hardly MAJOR character. I wouldlike to see Plan A and Plan B. I like the sound of Plan A.
Molly
# Molly 2010-02-02 04:16
Thanks for these tidbits, Alice. I am SO giddy over seeing *both* boys, this time, meeting their parents. I'm stocking up the Kleenex already for the scenes between Sam and his parents.
Jasminka
# Jasminka 2010-02-02 04:53
I'm not in the mood right now to speculate about who might die, I'm simply dying (oops, no pun intended) to see this episode, and it's already bugs me that I'll be away for the weekend doing all that political jazz I sometimes have to do in my job, so I probably won't be able to tune in on the discussions that will undoubtedly go on here before Sunday...

I hate it sometimes, really...

Is this the last episode we're going to see before the hiatus, Alice?

Thanks for giving us this preview bits (how wonderful that you could watch it - just like with changing channels...eh? Lucky gal)...

I've already stocked up on tissues, so I'm ready for any emotional breakdown... I'm an emotional mess these days anyways, so - bring it, some major crying coming up...?

Love Jas
Jasminka
# Jasminka 2010-02-02 04:54
Ah, typos - it (!!!) already bugs me...
grrrr.... Jas :o
Suze
# Suze 2010-02-02 10:04
EEEK! Not Cas! Not Cas! Take the googly-eyed red-head! PLEASE!

Jas, I feel your pain, I'm stuck at home with vomiting children or I wouldn't have caught up at all ... Every cloud has a silver lining, albeit a rather stinky one!
Shannon
# Shannon 2010-02-02 11:14
Thank you Alice so much for these teasers! I'm so glad that both Sam and Dean go back in time for this episode, and can't wait to see Sam's reaction to his parents. I don't thinK Castiel will bite the dust since Misha is contracted for more episodes; there again, people die and come back all the time, so who knows?!? ;-)
Randal
# Randal 2010-02-02 11:36
C'mon, gang, no way in hell Cas gets nuked. :D But fine, Kripke, take away more of my eye candy, you bastard. (assuming it's her)
Sheri
# Sheri 2010-02-02 13:57
I've been a little disallusioned with S5 lately, too, so this review has really got me up for this Thursday. I haven't cared for Anna in any of her episodes, so she can go...but she is not a major character. I'm thinking Dean somehow dies and is saved.
Bevie
# Bevie 2010-02-02 14:10
Don't worry folks. I'm sure Cas is going to survive.

And if Anna is really trying to kill off Dean's parents, then I'm glad it will be her kicking the bucket. (Does Cas kill her? Only an angel can kill another angel). But up to now I haven't disliked Anna at all. Things may change after Thursday though. LOL (What do I know anyway? I originally thought Zachariah was a good guy!)

So far, I've enjoyed season 5 a bit more than season 4. I think it is because we don't have Sam sneaking around so much this season. (and Ruby is dead!)
Miriam
# Miriam 2010-02-02 14:27
Awesome stuff!!

Can I ask about the cinematography? It's just that I loved the 70's feel of ITB, how it was more colourful than usual and the lighting and stuff. Is the cinematography as good in ths episode? Anything that made you go "That looks great"?

LOL You know what I mean? I'm a geek for this stuff. =)

Also, something you don't have to answer if it's too spoilery, but in one promo pic, Mary is pregnant, so, is it all in 78? Is there more than one flashback?

I CAN'T WAIT!!
Jasminka
# Jasminka 2010-02-02 16:45
Wow, Suze, how great to hear from you again! Missed your razor sharp comments, and I actually began to worry whether you're okay...

Thanks for the sympathy, I'll give it right back. Spectacular perfume you surround yourself with these days.Any Silence-Of-The- Lambs-FBI-paste you could put under your nose?

Courage! Jas
Ardeospina
# Ardeospina 2010-02-02 17:13
I can't wait. It looks epic! Awesome sauce!!! Thursday, are you here yet?
Bethany
# Bethany 2010-02-03 02:00
eek! i'm so excited i can't wait! bring on thursday!/frida y morning when i actually get to see it...
AndreaW
# AndreaW 2010-02-03 05:20
Obviously, it's not Castiel. He can be seen in pics for next episodes. Anyways, I hope Anna tells Dean that he let Sam out to go and kill Lilith.
Alice, by the way, I have expectations of good Sammy action in this episode. Can I be hopeful?
Julie
# Julie 2010-02-03 14:11
Course it's gonna be Anna:cry::

Unlike everyone else here, her story is the only one I'm interested in. Sounds like a great episode to go out on though.

I wonder if Plan A was to try and seduce Sam, (as if she'll need anymore reason for the 'fans' to hate her!!!).

I don't get why everyone's hating her, she's trying to stop the apocolypse, and if she has to kill the Winchesters, so be it.

Hope Julie goes on to bigger and better things, love yer babe ;-)
caritas
# caritas 2010-02-04 15:01
I am wondering after seeing the space promo is if Plan A was to get Cas to tell her where Sam was but he won't so she has to opt for plan b

I also love Anna and i don't want her to die i would like more of her and Cas working together but if she has to die i would like Cas to be the one that kills her as the boys always get to kill the enemy