Here's what we know about this week's episode.


“Just My Imagination” — (9:01:59-10:01:59 p.m. ET)

RICHARD SPEIGHT, JR. DIRECTS; NATE TORRENCE GUEST STARS —

Sam (Jared Padalecki) is shocked when his childhood imaginary friend Sully (guest star Nate Torrence) makes an unexpected appearance. Sam can’t understand why he’d see Sully now but what’s even more surprising is that Dean (Jensen Ackles) can see him, too. Flashbacks reveal young Sam’s friendship with Sully and why he needed him. Richard Speight, Jr. directed the episode written by Jenny Klein (#1108). Original airdate 12/2/2015.
The official CW promo



The CHCH promo





The sneak peek



NEW! Supernatural - Inside: Just My Imagination



NEW! TVLine article.

In what should be a treat for longtime fans, the hour promises to deliver some significant insights into Sammy’s upbringing, like “why Sully mattered to him [and] why Sam needed an imaginary friend” at the time, Speight, Jr. previews, adding that viewers will discover “what was going on in the family dynamic that was making a young boy lean away from existing family.”


and the promotional photos

01.jpg02.jpg03.jpg04.jpg05.jpg07.jpg08.jpg09.jpg10.jpg11.jpg12.jpg13.jpg14.jpg15.jpg16.jpg17.jpg18.jpg19.jpgDylan.jpgnormal_Just_my_iImagination_070.jpgnormal_Just_my_iImagination_111.jpgnormal_Just_my_iImagination_117.jpgnormal_Just_my_iImagination_118.jpgnormal_Just_my_iImagination_159.jpgnormal_Just_my_iImagination_162.jpgnormal_Just_my_iImagination_172.jpgnormal_Just_my_iImagination_209.jpgnormal_Just_my_iImagination_219.jpgnormal_Just_my_iImagination_264.jpgnormal_Just_my_iImagination_293.jpgnormal_Just_my_iImagination_295.jpgnormal_Just_my_iImagination_489.jpgnormal_Just_my_iImagination_495.jpgnormal_Just_my_iImagination_496.jpgnormal_Just_my_iImagination_498.jpgnormal_Just_my_iImagination_499.jpgnormal_Just_my_iImagination_503.jpgnormal_Just_my_iImagination_505.jpgnormal_Just_my_iImagination_510.jpgnormal_Just_my_iImagination_539.jpgnormal_Just_my_iImagination_543.jpgnormal_Just_my_iImagination_596.jpgnormal_Just_my_iImagination_597.jpgnormal_Just_my_iImagination_599.jpgnormal_Just_my_iImagination_619.jpgnormal_Just_my_iImagination_637.jpgnormal_Just_my_iImagination_641.jpgs11e08_28.jpgs11e08_44.jpgs11e08_57.jpgs11e08_60.jpgs11e08_68.jpgs11e08_83.jpgs11e08_99.jpgs11e08_137.jpgs11e08_184.jpgs11e08_185.jpgs11e08_213.jpgs11e08_265.jpgs11e08_406.jpgs11e08_433.jpgs11e08_469.jpgs11e08_557.jpgscnet_spn11x08_0319.jpgscnet_spn11x08_0683.jpgscnet_spn11x08_1269.jpgscnet_spn11x08_1351.jpgscnet_spn11x08_2053.jpgscnet_spn11x08_2079.jpg


EW has just posted Supernatural: Jensen Ackles, Jared Padalecki talk Sam's imaginary friend filling a Castiel-like role . Among the tidbits we learn

So while Dean adjusts to having Sam’s friend around, the good news is that Sully’s presence is going to give fans a glimpse into a side of Sam they might not have seen before. “It also provides a glimpse into Sam’s past and into Sam’s childhood and provides a Castiel for Sam almost,” Padalecki said. “Because we get to see a side of Dean when he’s with Cas that we don’t really get to see with Sam because Sam and Cas don’t have the relationship. But Sam and his childhood friend do have that relationship, so we get to see a cool part of Sam and see Sam admit to things that he’s not hiding from his brother but he just wouldn’t burden his brother with. So it’s really cool and I hope [Nate Torrence] comes back.”

West coast viewers will definitely be getting a special treat!


East coast viewers MAY get a tiny treat as well.


So, we get a look at Sam's childhood through new eyes when we meet his imaginary friend Sully. Unfortunately someone or something is killing imaginary friends and Sully needs help. It seems that Dean is not happy about Sully, at least at first. What do you think we will learn about Sam's childhood? What can he tell Sully that he doesn't want to burden Dean with? What is killing imaginary friends? Richard Speight, Jr. is directing this episode. Are you looking forward to seeing him in this new role?


OH NO! Sam really believes he may have to go back to the Cage! Carver says this will be bittersweet and touching. I hope the writing is up to it. It will take a little getting used to to see a new young Sam. Their casting for the young versions of Sam and Dean has been good, so far, so I'm expecting him to do a good job. What do you think now that you have seen the Producer's Preview? Tell us in the comments or in the discussion thread for episode 8.

Comments  

BoGirle
# BoGirle 2015-12-02 08:44
I HAVE been looking forward to this episode every since I heard that they were exploring Sam's childhood. I am praying that even if the episode is funny that they treat Sam's past with a modicum of dignity, respect and seriousness. Jenny Klein isn't my favorite writer but she's not terrible. Is this her first solo episode? She's often writing with Bob Singer. Well, the show has improved remarkably since he's stepped back so maybe her episodes will too.
LEAH
# LEAH 2015-12-02 14:49
I agree E.
Jen
# Jen 2015-12-02 17:29
Watch out for trains !!!!!!!! I heard one in Plush just before they burnt the rabbit head LOL
YellowEyedSam
# YellowEyedSam 2015-12-02 08:48
How can you kill imaginary friends?.. We shall see O-o
Jo1027
# Jo1027 2015-12-02 13:15
What I want to know is how Dean can see an IMAGINARY friend.
Definition: existing only in the imagination.
"Chris had imaginary conversations with her"
synonyms: unreal, nonexistent, fictional, fictitious, pretend, make-believe, mythical, mythological, fabulous, fanciful, storybook, fantastic

Makes no sense to me.
njspnfan
# njspnfan 2015-12-02 15:11
i suspect we'll find out that imaginary friends aren't so imaginary; In Clap Your Hands If You Believe, Sam was able to see the leprechaun only when the leprechaun wanted him to. Not saying that imaginary friends are from the faery realm, but probably something along those lines e.g. lower order angel / guardian angel or something like that.
LEAH
# LEAH 2015-12-02 17:03
I was kind of thinking along those lines too. Some sort of supernatural being who usually chooses not to be seen except by the children they are companions to in childhood for whatever reasons. I wish the friend had been the same age as Sam though or young at least. I can't see a child having a paunchy adult man as an "imaginary" friend.
Shante
# Shante 2015-12-02 14:45
wait what? *takes another look at synopsis*...Dea n can see? that half doesnt make sense this ep wont make sense
Debra
# Debra 2015-12-02 16:37
Does anyone know if supernatural will return in January I have not heard anything? Also I know no one will answer my question.
Alice
# Alice 2015-12-02 17:07
Why wouldn't anyone answer your question Debra? We love answering questions here!

In the US, Supernatural is slated to return January 27th. That would be episode 10. The best and most accurate source for network schedules is The Futon Critic (http://www.thefutoncritic.com/showatch/supernatural/listings/). That's only US though. I don't know schedules outside the US. Supernatural Wiki is usually good at sharing those.
Jen
# Jen 2015-12-02 17:26
I am looking forward to this episode. Other than poor Dean who appears to find anything concerning Sam a joke It looks as so it will be a sensitive episode. Dean's character is so imbeded in seeing is believing or if its not real kill it = I reckon this will be where the humor side will come into it. The clips look sweet and sad, and Sam takes the oppurtunity to talk to someone about his indecisions, I believe it will be lovely ep.
Its Supernatural guys Don't be so literell so what if your not suppose to see imaginary friends - maybe they lie somewhere between the fairy plan and heaven. Lets enjoy this one and give Sam lots of love


Very minor spoiler SPOILER SPOILER

I watched a interview yester day between Sam & Dean regarding this ep. And Dean was so excited about the comidic side and one line in particular that he had to tell us.

When Dean first says to Sam "Who are you talking too, whats going on" Sam says "My friend Sully" Dean's reply is a very dead pan -- "I'll get my gun" This is when Sully shows himself to Dean
LEAH
# LEAH 2015-12-02 18:07
Quote:
Dean who appears to find anything concerning Sam a joke
I don't agree with this Jen. Dean is skeptical by nature. Doesn't mean he doesn't care or won't be there for Sam if he is needed. Teasing Sam is something he has always done.
Jen
# Jen 2015-12-02 18:56
Yeah sorry wrong word I was thinking joking. as in teasing Sam having fun Not a JOKE ( didn't read it back before posting)
BoGirle
# BoGirle 2015-12-02 21:58
AAAHHH! Train whistles! Not just the whistle this time, but the sound of the train too.
AlyCat22
# AlyCat22 2015-12-02 22:13
AHHHHHH!!!! For all the people that told me "Oh, that's nothing" or "It was probably just caught in the initial recording and they just left it"... suck it!!! Not just the whistle this time but also the sound of a train bearing down... Damn, where's that list that explained the various whistles when you need it!?
Jen
# Jen 2015-12-02 22:16
Aly I re posted it on " Wednesday's watching Plush "
AlyCat22
# AlyCat22 2015-12-02 22:27
Thanks. Now I need to go back and listen to each one. So cool!
Jen
# Jen 2015-12-02 23:26
Aly the train appears to always come up around Sam And it was a doosy choo choo train this week. Blasting down the track blowing its horn
AlyCat22
# AlyCat22 2015-12-02 23:39
Not entirely because in the Baby episode it was during the "talk" though it did initially start when the camera was on Sam, in Plush it was while all three of them were torching the bunny head and in this episode I don't remember. Have you compared the whistle blows to the charts for their meanings?
Jen
# Jen 2015-12-02 23:26
Aly the train appears to always come up around Sam And it was a doosy choo choo train this week. Blasting down the track blowing its horn
AlyCat22
# AlyCat22 2015-12-02 22:26
Train Hat TrickI Three in a row baby!!! I wonder if it the train whistle has been decreasing in distance or increasing in volume? I don't know why but I find this so cool!
eilf
# eilf 2015-12-02 22:29
All you train whistle people I raise my hat to you! You spotted it and it was definitely there at the end of the episode.

I assume it is a Soul Train coming to take Sam to the Cage. Poor Sam. Always knowing that the hardest road is the one he will have to take - and taking it.
Jen
# Jen 2015-12-02 23:29
BoGirle Obviously TAXI'S can't go to where the cage is ========= so they have to take a train :o:o:o
AlyCat22
# AlyCat22 2015-12-02 23:40
I'm thinking more AmTrak as opposed to a freight train tho... ;) I mean a freight train would take foreverrrrrr.
samandean10
# samandean10 2015-12-03 08:04
Calling it a "soul train" is perfect eilf! I laughed when I read that. Even I couldn't miss it in this ep, the sound was so loud. Sam, get off the tracks!!!
Jen
# Jen 2015-12-02 22:20
PLEASE TELL WHY AMARA IS KISSING DEAN in next wks preview
AlyCat22
# AlyCat22 2015-12-02 22:36
Hmmm... kiss or possible soul suckage? Either way he didn't look terribly into it. ;)

Didn't care for this young Sam. He seemed too bright eyed and bushy tailed. Or maybe that was the point? I'll see how I feel on rewatch.

Did anybody catch what Crowley said?
Jen
# Jen 2015-12-02 23:24
Yes his talking to Sam & Dean (persumably about getting to the cage) Crowley says ----- "Their maybe a way"
AlyCat22
# AlyCat22 2015-12-02 23:41
Thank you. I couldn't make it out and it was driving me nuts.